Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Runing the DJI Vision app on a laptop. It works!

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision Discussion' started by Noël, Jan 10, 2014.

  1. Noël

    Noël Guest

    Had some time to kill today so I tried running the DJI Vision app on an "old" laptop running the Android-x86 Project

    The laptops (a Samsung N110) WiFi was working out of the box when I booted Android-x86 from an USB stick, so I thought why not give the DJI Vision app a test run...

    Guess what.. I started and managed to connect to the RE500 wireless range extender, and the P2V stream showed up on the laptop :)

    This being able will open a lot of new possibilities (streaming to TV, recording FPV feed, etc. etc.)

    More info on the Android-x86 Project: http://www.android-x86.org/
    How to boot Android-x86 Project from an USB stick: http://www.google.com
    Proof of concept (not really a good video): http://youtu.be/8RU7LPP-kOQ (sorry I recorded the video upside down with my phone, and flipped it when re-recording. That's why it is mirrored now)
     
  2. ZonComGMZ

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2013
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    1
    Would be great if it could also be run on a virtual machine so we don't need to reboot into a different OS. I was thinking about seeing if there is a way to stream my iOS screen to another device while I'm flying FPV w the P2V. It would probably need to be hardwired or use BT because the WiFi is being used to talk to the P2V.
     
  3. Drone7

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2013
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
  4. birddogg

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2014
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Virtualbox will work you just need a usb network card, tested on android x86 4.3 . You can also boot andoidx86 from a flash drive if you need it.

    I do this sometimes, its nice to have it on virtualbox and just go right into editing via shared folder. Ive found an lenovo yoga 8 tablet mounted to a tripod with a hood has been the easiest solution for moving around, assuming its too bright for your phone.
     
  5. AnselA

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2014
    Messages:
    896
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Declination +8° 11'
    How did you do the mounting and where did you get the hood?
     
  6. birddogg

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2014
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    I will post a pic on my website when i get home ... the tablet is mounted with this though http://www.amazon.com/Universal-Flexibl ... _pr_sims_t

    the hood is basically one of those fabric storage box's from lowe's http://www.lowes.com/pd_54969-18790-868 ... facetInfo=

    with one side cut out and another side split in the middle attached with three pieces of velcro, it actually looks pretty good and holds up in the wind. I have the clamp attached to the tripods mount with a longer bolt that still allows a standard camera mount to be put over the top of it. Just wear a baseball hat to block any back light behind you and you can see the colors well enough in most situations to get the exposure correct.

    then finally the yoga 8 on sale for $199 , everyone go's on about how fast the nexus is etc. for me battery life is the only thing that matters. I can look past low res and low cpu power if it gives me 12 solid hours of use.

    link to pictures www.airspaceimaging.com/misc.html
     
  7. jumanoc

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    700
    Likes Received:
    8
    With the "YOU WAVE" android emulator you have Virtual Box installed and don't have to reboot the PC, just open the virtual image and Android will run into PC host nicely.

    US$19 full version:
    http://youwave.com/

    I use "BlueStacks" emulator.

    http://www.bluestacks.com/app-player.html
     
  8. npalen

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    Messages:
    532
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Kansas
    I'm not understanding how the Vision app can be run without a touchscreen. Obviously I'm missing something. Help me out here please.
     
  9. BigTulsa

    Joined:
    May 29, 2014
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Tulsa, OK
    Have you ever seen Chrome's Android emulator? It can emulate touch screen pretty easily.
     
  10. gpauk

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2013
    Messages:
    567
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Aberdeenshire, Scotland
    It runs under bluestacks on a pc, in window, too...
     
  11. funkdoobies

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2014
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    1

    thanks, i just downloaded bluestacks and i was surprised when the Dji vision app loaded on my PC! only problem is i get no telemetry data just the video feed... when i look at where the screen normally tells me its connected to the Phantom network it actually tells me its connected to the bluestacks network. is there anyway to change this so i get all the telemetry data?
     
  12. DBeard

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2014
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ya, I'll chime in here too. It doesn't work in Bluestacks as the virtual wifi device is not seen as the Phantom. Therefor a perpetual message of Phantom Disconnected is superimposed over the video feed. The Telemetry is absent, and controls do not work.

    If your experience is different, please define, how you came to success for the rest of us.
     
  13. AnselA

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2014
    Messages:
    896
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Declination +8° 11'
    I have been using my Android tablet with a BT and USB mouse, no need to touch the screen. Even scroll wheel works :)
     
  14. flyingtim

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2014
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    0