Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

RTH

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Wallyboy, Mar 26, 2016.

  1. Wallyboy

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2016
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Ashford, kent, uk.
    Thought i would share my RTH experience,
    It was a lovely day yesterday in the UK, wanted to test distance, and RTH, so sent out quad pretty happy with distance, then thought i would give RTH a try, it stalled for a while then started return in the meantime my heart was pounding like a good un, never been so worried and excited like that for a long long time.
    Must say it is an awesome bit of kit.


    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  2. flpholt

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2016
    Messages:
    4,178
    Likes Received:
    1,561
    Location:
    palm harbor florida
    did you get the hand shakes
     
    JBJO likes this.
  3. Deputy Dog

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2016
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    Wide Open AZ
    I have lost signal while flying out over 4 miles. The craft stops for a minute, goes to your return home altitude, and begins flying home (as advertised). After a minute or two, I've always been able to re-establish signal and begin flying it myself again. I think the RTH function would be useful if your controller stopped working for some reason and you couldn't re-establish a connection with the Phantom. Then it would fly home and land in front of you while you waited, drinking a cold one, to calm your nerves.
     
  4. Wallyboy

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2016
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Ashford, kent, uk.
    my heart was pounding enough to make them shake, when the weather gets good again I want to try CL, and WP.
     
  5. Wallyboy

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2016
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Ashford, kent, uk.
    How did you manage 4 miles I thought they were only good for 1.2 miles,
    I only went out according to data 17595 ft, will try full distance once weather picks up again, heavy rain and wind at moment.
     
  6. flpholt

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2016
    Messages:
    4,178
    Likes Received:
    1,561
    Location:
    palm harbor florida
    over water you can go really long distance
     
  7. garykeithmead1

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2015
    Messages:
    259
    Likes Received:
    39
    Location:
    Uk
    Wecome to the club :)
     
    Wallyboy likes this.
  8. Wallyboy

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2016
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Ashford, kent, uk.
    How does this work, being new to quads be interested to hear,
     
  9. jonebk12

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2016
    Messages:
    272
    Likes Received:
    96
    It's a matter of there being basically no interference (both signal interference from other sources and physical barriers between the quad and the RC).
     
    Wallyboy likes this.
  10. Wallyboy

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2016
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Ashford, kent, uk.
    Thanks makes total sense,
     
  11. Deputy Dog

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2016
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    Wide Open AZ
    There is nothing to interfere with the signal where I live. Here is a picture of my screen with the distance on it. I'm also flying up slope so that my also help the signal.
     

    Attached Files:

    • 005.jpg
      005.jpg
      File size:
      6.7 MB
      Views:
      95
  12. flpholt

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2016
    Messages:
    4,178
    Likes Received:
    1,561
    Location:
    palm harbor florida
    little high up there I see wouldn't post that
     
  13. Deputy Dog

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2016
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    Wide Open AZ
    It looks high, but I was flying up slope from where I launched. We've measured the ground out there and it's 350' higher in elevation from where we take off. Go up a slight hill like that seems to help the signal stay stronger for longer.
     
  14. Deputy Dog

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2016
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    Wide Open AZ
    Your signal is as good as where you live. More houses, wires, cars....the less distance on the signal. I live in the Arizona desert and there is nothing to interfere with the signal or the Phantom.
     
  15. flpholt

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2016
    Messages:
    4,178
    Likes Received:
    1,561
    Location:
    palm harbor florida
    lived in phx for 35 years miss Mexican food fl is mostly seafood
     
    Deputy Dog likes this.
  16. Deputy Dog

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2016
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    Wide Open AZ
    PHX is way to big for me, with big city problems. Northern AZ is cooler and less crowded.
     
  17. Wallyboy

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2016
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Ashford, kent, uk.
    That's good news I live with lots of open farmland, so when more experienced hope to get some good distance,