Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

RTH question

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Benitoculito, May 11, 2013.

  1. Benitoculito

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2013
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello all, so my question is, if you flick the switch to rth and the phantom is more than 20 meters below you, ie down a hill or over a cliff, will it raise back up 20 meters above its home point, or will it raise 20 meters and fly into the cliff ? It's too windy here to test !

    Cheers all
     
  2. discv

    Joined:
    May 7, 2013
    Messages:
    619
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    London, UK
    Interesting question - the more you think about it.

    From what I can read of the Chinenglish manuals, the craft will lift 20m from it's position when the signal is lost.

    That said, it still has to reference it's alltitude at the recorded home position.

    My money is on disaster. If you're brave- try it out at say 10m below take off point. And let us know :twisted:
     
  3. DomKane

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2013
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cardiff, UK
    I guess the best way to test this is to send it -5m below floor level and try it... Then do the same at -10m and then again at -15m, and by that time you should be able to see the difference between each RTH altitude.

    Baby steps....
     
  4. jumanoc

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    700
    Likes Received:
    8
    Manuals reading:

    When Failsafe activates, If phantom is above 20 mts, it will keep that altitude and return home. if it is lower than 20 mts. it will climb to 20 mts and then return home.

    Phantom will not detect / avoid obstacles between Failsafe point and Home recorded point, so... Answering your question: Phantom detects its altitude, not based in your altitude when trigger failsafe... It will crash returning home point if start failsafe been lower than home point and any obstacle is between.
     
  5. Benitoculito

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2013
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the response guys, will try it as soon as this wind drops !
     
  6. Gizmo3000

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    1,859
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Sherman Oaks, CA
    Let sus know how it goes.

    But I'm pretty sure that it is all based on the altitude of your set home location,
    and if RTH is enabled, it will raise to Home Location + 20M and return home.
     
  7. tvpopta

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2013
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    the Netherlands
    this should tell it all :)
     

    Attached Files:

  8. Benitoculito

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2013
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Unfortunately the weather is still very bad here, haven't been able to do the test yet ! English weather ! Drives me mad !