RTH question

Reaction score
I have a P3P and I use an Ipad Air2 as the tablet for it. When flying today I wanted to try to change the RTH from the original take off position to that of the tablet, I believe it is called the Dynamic Home Point feature. When I touched the button to change, I got a message that said the GPS signal in my device was "too weak" to allow re-designation of the home point. Not exact words, but words to that effect. I was just wondering if anyone else has had this happen, and if there is any remedy for it. Thanks.

I believe you can link it via wi-fi to a personal hotspot with your phone as a workaround. Someone will chime in to say for sure.

You read my mind...that was going to be my next question. So I can possibly use my cellphone as the hotspot for the ipad wifi and obtain a new Dynamic Home Point. Any frequency concerns?

And I am a novice at all of this and trying to learn....I had originally assumed my Ipad had a GPS chip in it when I downloaded the Google Earth app and it showed my location (using wifi admittedly). So I am not completely clear on how this technology works, but really enjoy learning about it.

BTW - learned on an FC-40 for I received for Christmas, saw my bro in laws P2V+and was in awe....and now own the P3P. The technology still just blows me (and everybody who watches me fly) away.

Thanks for the info!

Last edited:
You read my mind...that was going to be my next question. So I can possibly use my cellphone as the hotspot for the ipad wifi and obtain a new Dynamic Home Point. Any frequency concerns?

And I am a novice at all of this and trying to learn....I had originally assumed my Ipad had a GPS chip in it when I downloaded the Google Earth app and it showed my location (using wifi admittedly). So I am not completely clear on how this technology works, but really enjoy learning about it.