RTH Problems...mainly...it doesnt work

Reaction score
Guys,

I am new to the world of DJI and quads, I have had mine for roughly a month and a half.

I have a Vision Plus, updated to version 3.04 and running in Naza-M mode.

I just recently started learning all the features and was working on the IOC controls and how they work when I decided to give the RTH a try using the S1 switch.

I always wait for GPS lock, and around my house it locks with roughly 7 satellites, and while im flying it gets about 10 satellites.

Every time that I have tried RTH it starts to fly back but it completely misses the home position and just keeps on flying away. Even on the app it shows the distance incrementing instead of going down.

I have not had the testicular fortitude to to just let it go and see how far away it goes (Ive let it go up to 750ft away according to the app), I just manually flick back up to GPS mode and fly it back down.

I am afraid to try the RTH function by turning off the controller.

Ive done several advanced calibrations and compass calibrations, and I still get the same behavior.
I am actually starting to question flying without having a reliable RTH.

What do you all think?

I would guess that you didn't change the setting of the bottom position of S1 to 'failsafe', and so it is just going into ATTI mode. The default for S1, bottom position in NAZA is ATTI, same as the middle position. You have to use the software assistant and have your TX connected to the Phantom to set the S1 switch to "failsafe" for the bottom position.

If you did that, than something is really wrong assuming you have correctly recorded a home point.

Power up your Software assistant, and see what is set for the bottom position of S1... Does it say ATTI?

D86

Try this. When you have the GPS lock, start motors, then turn off motors. In Vision app, goto "find my phantom" and check that phantoms location is what you expect.

Porthos said: