Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

  1. player1

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2016
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hellooo.

    So I went to the beach yesterday to film and when it set the RTH point, it shows on the map as in the surf (about 40m away), not on the beach where I was standing.

    Is this just the map being a little off, or will the drone end up in surf? Not sure how to trust the location and didn't want to test it.

    I may have landed where I was, or would it recalculate exactly once airborne.
     
  2. tcope

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2015
    Messages:
    3,519
    Likes Received:
    1,387
    Location:
    Salt Lake City, UT
    Make sure you have at least 6 sats locked before you start the motors.
     
  3. k4wil

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2016
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    I point the camera down when the drone starts to descend after the RTH command. If it isn't pointing to where I want to land I cancel the auto RTH and land manually. Don't know if that is correct but it does get me where I want to be. Most of the time I find I land within a foot or so from where I take off.


    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  4. player1

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2016
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Cheers, just went and looked again, the map shows water where i am standing, but If I switch to satellite view, it shows the beach and my point is accurate.
     
  5. player1

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2016
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0

    Great, so good to know i can take back over if needed.
     
  6. Multicoptertec

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2016
    Messages:
    1,088
    Likes Received:
    313
    Location:
    Apollo Beach, Florida
    The home point should be within a yard or two of where you set it. If not, reset it, or figure out why it is off.
     
  7. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,731
    Likes Received:
    3,450
    As multicoptertec says, the recorded home point should be within a few feet of where the Phantom is and it would be very unusual if it was more than that.
    Keep an eye on this in future but to investigate this one, go to http://www.phantomhelp.com/LogViewer/Upload/
    Follow the instructions to upload the flight record.
    Come back and post a link to the report it provides and I can check exactly where the recorded home point was.
     
  8. Joseph Nguyen

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Ho Chi Minh
    I normally use RTH whenever I want the drone comes back but when I see the drone above me I cancel the RTH and land manually.
     
    Norval likes this.
  9. RémyHeli

    Joined:
    May 23, 2016
    Messages:
    411
    Likes Received:
    61
    FYI there is many informations and tips on that subject here:

    Home point accuracy issues



    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  10. player1

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2016
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
  11. RadioMike

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2014
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    North Florida
    Aaahh come on what was it? :)
     
  12. player1

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2016
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    As said above, it was just the map image mode, the MAP only mode showed water where I was, but the satellite map mode (real image) showed the beach. So id say the simple map is not accurate. I did a RTH test and all was mint. and I have to Say this thing is amazing.....
     
  13. RémyHeli

    Joined:
    May 23, 2016
    Messages:
    411
    Likes Received:
    61