Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

RTH Normal Height

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by Flyboy, Jul 15, 2015.

  1. Flyboy

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2013
    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    Michigan
    For the people not flying in the hills etc. What height do most set the RTH setting? Do most change it depending on where they are flying that day? Do most set it to a certain height and leave it?

    Just wondering?
     
  2. C0ps

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2015
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    56
    I might of gone a little overboard and set it at 50 m. I live around old tall trees
     
  3. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    19,096
    Likes Received:
    5,623
    Location:
    US
    I always set RTH altitude to about 100 ft above the tallest obstacle. If I fly in a new area, I reset my RTH altitude accordingly. My Phantom does not RTH often -- but, if it's going to happen, I want it to be well above any obstacle.
     
  4. scholls22

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2015
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    5
    Brand new here...when I try to change the RTH altitude it resets back to 0. Any ideas?
     
  5. C0ps

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2015
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    56
    You need to have your phantom 3 on and software connected to drone.
     
  6. tcope

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2015
    Messages:
    3,552
    Likes Received:
    1,396
    Location:
    Salt Lake City, UT
    You need to be connected to the Phantom at the time you set it as this information is stored in the P3 itself (as RTH kicks in when the P3 is no longer getting a signal from the controller or video has been lost).
     
  7. scholls22

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2015
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    5
    Awesome. Thanks!
     
  8. GadgetGuy

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2015
    Messages:
    4,481
    Likes Received:
    1,296
    Yeah, that threw me off on a lot of settings, when I first got my P3P. Couldn't figure out why many of my user configured "app" settings weren't being saved. These settings are actually stored on the P3P, and not in the Pilot app itself, which is why the P3P battery must be turned on to change them, and have the values saved directly onto the P3P!:cool: That way, no matter which device you use with the Pilot app as your tablet, the results will be the same, and when the app or RC disconnects, the P3P still knows what you want it to do!
     
    snowghost likes this.
  9. Sammynels

    Joined:
    May 19, 2015
    Messages:
    586
    Likes Received:
    231
    Location:
    MA
  10. GadgetGuy

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2015
    Messages:
    4,481
    Likes Received:
    1,296
    120 meters/400 feet will usually be enough. No harm in being a lot higher than you think you might ever need, as long as you are no higher than 400 feet, where you might potentially be interfering with low flying planes and real helicopters.
     
  11. taroh

    Joined:
    May 4, 2015
    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    Yokohama, Japan/Taichung, Taiwan
    Set RTH height is in my checklist, but most of the case I confirm and leave it as 50m. The highest tree don't exceed that, and recently the hight is not reliable (at 10m sometimes P3 shows 0m).
    BTW, on the hill, it's AGL (above ground where P3 starts), not MSL, maybe the same.
     
    Flyboy likes this.
  12. MDR

    MDR

    Joined:
    May 26, 2015
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    77
    Set mine at 200 feet, still gives me LOS when it has returned and above me.
     
  13. Cica

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2015
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    6
    Only issue is if the drone is returning due to low battery. That's a lot of energy to climb and descend those extra feet. I set mine to 200 ft and might lower it if I ever get comfortable with less.
     
    taroh and bobmyers like this.
  14. spindrift

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2015
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    37
    Location:
    Canada
    Mine is set to 60m due to obstacles.
     
  15. GadgetGuy

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2015
    Messages:
    4,481
    Likes Received:
    1,296
    Good point! The best number depends upon the terrain you are going to be flying over and how aggressively you exhaust your batteries before flying home. I tend to be more aggressive about the former and more conservative about the latter!