Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

RTH Max Height and Ridges/Valleys

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by wallix, Feb 2, 2016.

  1. wallix

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2016
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    22
    If you are flying on a tree-lined ridge next to a valley, and the trees on your operating level are 60ft, what should you set the RTH max height for if you fly the drone down into the valley? Do you have to add, let's say, another 50 ft on top of the 60 ft in case you hit the RTH button while down in the valley? Or does the Phantom know you went below it's RTH point and does the math itself?
     
  2. bbfpv

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2015
    Messages:
    3,744
    Likes Received:
    1,092
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    your HP is 0ft, every other height is relative to that.
     
  3. wallix

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2016
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    22
    OK, I think I follow you. So if I go below myself, I do not need to take that into consideration if the HP is right in from of me? If I hit RTH in the valley, it won't go up the extra 60 feet until it hits 0 ft? BTW, I'm asking this because I will be flying in exactly this scenario this weekend. I just want to be sure.
     
  4. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,771
    Likes Received:
    5,524
    Location:
    US
    Your Phantom knows when it drops below the altitude of the takeoff point. If that happens, you'll see a negative altitude in the DJI GO app. If RTH is enabled, your Phantom would fly up to 0 ft and then to your RTH altitude.
     
  5. wallix

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2016
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    22
    Got it. thanks.