RTH Height

Reaction score
I am new to the P4 world. I am flying from some open space at the top of a valley, then flying down into the valley. My question is a RTH height of 30 metres, the height the drone will go to above the home point OR will the drone always keep 30 metres above ground level that the drone is currently flying over ?

I am new to the P4 world. I am flying from some open space at the top of a valley, then flying down into the valley. My question is a RTH height of 30 metres, the height the drone will go to above the home point OR will the drone always keep 30 metres above ground level that the drone is currently flying over ?
Your Phantom has no way to know what is below it or how far it is above solid ground (beyond the range of the VPS - 10 metres).
All heights are relative to the home point.

When RTH is initiated, your Phantom would ascend to the home point altitude and then ascend 30 more meters.

Make sure the phantom is calibrated and the app communicates to you that "the home point has been set" and wait for a "safe to fly" on the screen. When the phantom lifts off under those conditions it will leave with a proper reference to "HOME". RTH altitude is related to the home point.

And glance at your altitude now and then to be sure it jives with reality.

NoCo Drones