Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

RTH Feature

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by hawkeye62, May 5, 2016.

  1. hawkeye62

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2016
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Sandy, Utah
    I forgot about a RTH feature where if the AC is inside a 20 meter diameter (I think) circle around the home point, it will immediately land without returning to home point. I was in a large open area so no problems. But, I can see a possibility for big problems in a smaller landing zone. Is there any way to turn this feature off or reduce the diameter of the circle?

    Thanks for any advice.

    Regards, Jim
     
  2. alokbhargava

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2015
    Messages:
    5,144
    Likes Received:
    1,660
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    FrequentFlyer likes this.
  3. Oso

    Oso

    Joined:
    May 19, 2015
    Messages:
    2,535
    Likes Received:
    1,482
    Location:
    Sacramento CA
    Hi Jim. Sorry, no. There is no way to turn it off or adjust the circle diameter. You can however take manual control if you see there may be an issue with where it lands.
     
  4. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,750
    Likes Received:
    3,461
    What big problems?
    How often are you likely to want to use RTH when your Phantom is already closer than 60 feet from home?
    The only users likely to ever experience this are nervous new owners trying RTH for the first time but not wanting to do it far away.
     
    flpholt likes this.
  5. alokbhargava

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2015
    Messages:
    5,144
    Likes Received:
    1,660
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    Why DJI picked up 20m can definitely be debated but I agree it's a good to have feature. If I am trying to land my quad in low battery conditions, I would hate if it suddenly ascends to RTH height.
     
  6. hawkeye62

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2016
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Sandy, Utah
    Yeah, like me! If I was in a very tight area and nervous about landing, I might switch to RTH and it could land in baaad place. I agree that it is a desirable feature for emergency battery situations. I will have to remember this feature. Anyway, I have been practicing my manual landings and have gotten much better.

    Best regards, Jim
     
  7. Great_Lakes

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2016
    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    67
    Location:
    South Eastern Michigan
    I think the pros outweigh the cons on RTH. (If there are really any cons). I'm a new phantom 3 pro owner and have been practicing a lot since I got it 2 weeks ago. I've been "stretching my legs" on the distance I take it out, and a couple of days ago I took it out of sight and out of hearing range. I couldn't even tell where it was by looking at the FPV. Very unnerving for a novice! I couldn't quite recognize the landscape from the air, so I couldn't even point it in the right direction to fly it home myself! Lol! So I used the RTH at that point. I waited and waited and finally I heard it coming. Then once it was above me, I cancelled RTH and took over. After watching the video I realized I was nearly a half mile away.

    I was VERY happy for the RTH feature!!
     
  8. meissner58

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2016
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    28
    I generally watch the trace on the right map. I follow that back home first before hitting RTH..Believe me I've had those panicky moments like u. I just calmly checked battery power, distance, and map trail to see how far out I was and how much time I had left to keep trying to find my way back. I followed trail back and was highly impressed how accurate it was! It's my savior out there!
     
  9. Excavator99

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2015
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Near Kansas City, MO
    You can also just let go of the sticks, let it hover then swap screens from FPV to the map and look at where the
    Phantom is in relation to you, and then bring it back to you.
     
  10. Great_Lakes

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2016
    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    67
    Location:
    South Eastern Michigan
    Man, I feel so stupid now! You're right. The map is another great feature that I totally forgot about using! In my humble defense, I make note that I'm using an iphone for my FPV and the screen size is really quite inadequate! And the glare! Even with a hood I can hardly see anything. (maybe I'm just old)! :) I'm too cheep to fork out the $350 to $400 for an Ipad.

    Thanks! You guys are great! Really glad I joined this forum!
     
    meissner58 likes this.
  11. Excavator99

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2015
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Near Kansas City, MO
    Don't feel stupid, I learned it from the same scenario as yours. i was flying over a lake and lost all orientation to where I was flying. I thought from the view on my screen I was returning to the shore, but realized it was the wrong shore :p I finally just stopped and then switched views, turned 90 degrees and flew it back to me.
     
  12. hawkeye62

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2016
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Sandy, Utah
    OK, I am stupid. I didn't even know there was a map view. :oops: How do you switch from FPV view to map view?

    Jim
     
  13. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,750
    Likes Received:
    3,461
    Just tap on the window

    The Phantom has multiple aids that you can use if you are disoriented.
    You can use the landscape in the camera view if that isn't confusing and aim for the high point or follow the river etc.
    Or you can select the map view and follow the line home like a trail of breadcrumbs.
    [​IMG]
    Or you can select the radar display and use that to turn the Phantom to face you and fly home, confirming with the telemetry that you are getting closer.
    [​IMG]
    Or you can use RTH via the app or the controller button to turn the Phantom around and aim right at you.
    Remember that RTH is a slow driver and will only come home at 10 m/sec but you can drive faster at 15 m/s.
    So there's no need to sit back and wait if your Phantom is making slow progress if there is a little headwind.
    Just kick the right stick forward or cancel RTH and take over.
     
  14. hawkeye62

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2016
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Sandy, Utah
    Thanks Meta4, that helps.

    Best regards, Jim
     
  15. Digdat0

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2016
    Messages:
    881
    Likes Received:
    388
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    If you dont mind Android, check out the Nexus 7 2013 version. Its amazing and cheap, an 8gb one can go for about $100, the 16gb isn't too far behind. I got a used one and its dedicated to my phantom, love it!
     
  16. Great_Lakes

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2016
    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    67
    Location:
    South Eastern Michigan
    Thanks Dig. I'll check it out. I have a Samsung tab 3 w/android, but it's not compatible, at least not yet.
     
  17. meissner58

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2016
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    28
    Had a brand new s2 tablet it gave me blotchy grainy feed. Video turned out ok on SD but I had to go back to iPad mini 2. Love it so much more.
     
  18. skipilot1

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2016
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    24
    I had an iPad 1st edition that was useless for FPV plus it is just too big for the controller. My iPhone worked better but the screen is small and you have to switch out the map for the radar screen. I looked for refurbished iPad mini 2. After doing some research I believed there would not be much of an improvement. The mini 4 has a brighter and more detailed display with a built in glare screen but is a lot more. I found a refurbished model from Drone Geeks for $259. I can now fly FPV and rarely use the map in full view. It is the best display of any of the drones I have had. Be patient and keep checking on Google. You will find one at a reasonable price and be very happy with the results.
     
    Great_Lakes likes this.
  19. joeruby

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2016
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    Glendale, Arizona
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    I have the new Samsung Galaxy Tab S2 9.7" very bright display with an 8 core processor. I have over 159. miles on my P3P using Litchi and the Galaxy Tab S2. The video is perfect. The response is fast and I have never had a problem with the Tab S2 over-heating on 100 deg F days in Phoenix, Arizona. I am very very pleased with the Samsung Galaxy Tab S2. It also connects to my PC's as two hard drives for simple file transfer. 60 GB internal and 128 GB on the plug in SD chip. {Just for info guys.)
    Cheers,
    Joe
    KC7GHT
     
    meissner58 likes this.
  20. meissner58

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2016
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    28
    I have same one..maybe my settings are off somewhere. I want to use it!