Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

RTH and VPS

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by isurugamage, Oct 18, 2015.

  1. isurugamage

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello guys ,

    It has been an awesome 3 weeks with my P3P and im hoping to push the boundaries in the coming weekend ! ( more distance and altitude) so lets say somehow i lost signal and RTH is activated, now my home point is kinda middle of a ground but lets say when i lose my signal the altitude was low and there are trees around . Will it automatically increase the altitude when it does RTH? So it wouldn't get damaged from the surroundings ? If it cant what do you guys suggest ??

    Also what are the advantages/disadvantages of having VPS on when im flying outside ? Does it give more stability while hovering in the same place ?

    Thanks in advance!
     
  2. flyNfrank

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Messages:
    4,234
    Likes Received:
    915
    Location:
    Indy, USA
    You have to set the settings for altitude on RTH situations. I go 40-50ft above the highest known object in the flight area. The VPS is meant for indoor flying. It is to be a option if you are some where that GPS can not get a signal. The majority will probably say to shut it off when flying outside, but I never shut mine down. I feel it gives a much more controllable flight during liftoff and landing down to 2ft.
     
    #2 flyNfrank, Oct 18, 2015
    Last edited: Oct 18, 2015
  3. isurugamage

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks flyNfrank!
     
  4. flyNfrank

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Messages:
    4,234
    Likes Received:
    915
    Location:
    Indy, USA
    Just to let you know I edited the word "about" and changed to "above". It now reads as "I go 40-50ft above the highest known".
     
  5. isurugamage

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
  6. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,763
    Likes Received:
    3,470
    Lets see what the manual has to say on this topic ...
    [​IMG]
    RTH is one of the most important topics for a Phantom flyer to understand.
    There are 3 kinds of RTH and two whole pages on it in the manual.

    I strongly recommend reading and trying it out in a large open area so that if you need to use RTH or if it happens automatically, you'll know how to do it and what it does as well as how to cancel and resume control.
    Note that your Phantom has to be more than 60 feet away for RTH to work properly.
    Closer than 60 feet it will land where it is.
     
  7. isurugamage

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks meta4!