Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

RTH Altitude setting

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by headers5049, Jan 10, 2016.

  1. headers5049

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Given I frequently see others reminding to ensure sufficient altitude is set for RTH, is it not logical to set this to the max as default? Possibly in a low battery scenario you'd not want this necessarily however in the majority of circumstances would this not make sense?
     
  2. joeb1999

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2015
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    14
    I always always set at 120 m and never run below 50% far off. I usually find it set at just 30 m. That can cause problems with trees.
     
  3. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    9,385
    Likes Received:
    4,491
    Unless you have 300 foot+ obstacles in your flight area, there is no reason to set RTH to the max.
    There is no point making your Phantom climb to 400 feet to come home and slowly descend from 400 feet without a good reason.
    If you initiated max altitude RTH from a low height, you are adding a minute to your return flight time and demanding a lot extra from your (possibly low) battery by making it climb so far.
    Adjust your RTH to a sensible height to allow for whatever obstacles are nearby.
     
  4. Rumbaar

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    263
    Likes Received:
    45
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Issue is the power needed to climb to the maximum. Which in an event of issue, might cause more harm than good when it's trying to return after communication loss. I set mine to around 50m, which is my average cruising height and will clear most objects around the location I'm flying. If I feel it can be lower, I go lower.

    That's one setting I feel should be set for each flight, for best chance of recovery and safe return. But I never go below 50m in it's setting these days.
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - RTH Altitude setting Forum Date
RTH altitude setting only appears as metric Phantom 4 Discussion Dec 22, 2016
Disconcerting Situation When Setting RTH Altitude General Discussion Oct 1, 2016
Professional RTH Altitude setting Phantom 3 Help Mar 31, 2016
Failsafe/RTH Altitude Setting in Litchi for IOS Pro/Adv Discussion Mar 12, 2016
Ground Station RTH Altitude Settings Phantom 2 Vision + Discussion Dec 20, 2015