Rotate and Slide!

Reaction score
Hey all.....
Got a potential problem... I think.
On this flight, I went up to about 10' and it stayed pretty much in one spot. As soon as I tried to rotate 360 degrees, then stopping, the P2 started to slide off in one direction. It slid out about 15-20' and stayed there. I flew it back to my position and tried it again. Same thing. BTW I did a compass cal before flight.
I didn't have a gimbal attached. Winds were out of the ESE@6. But the P2 would slide in about any direction depending where it stopped rotating.
Is this normal or do I need to fix it?

Firmware version?

Beats me. I'm new at this and have not plugged it in to a computer.
I'm guessing I need to do that next?

Yep, the new versions of the firmware solved the drift issue some used to have.

with 10 feet you will still have ground effect. Take it up at least 15 feet or higher if you want to test for zero drift.
It will always give in to the wind a little but once it settles (no ground effect) it should be fairly stable. During a yaw it will have to compensate again for wind drift and it will move a couple of feet, unless it is dead calm.

Have you even connected your Phantom a single time to the Phantom assistant software and performed advanced IMU calibration?
Have you calibrated your transmitter in the Phantom RC assistant and Phantom assistant?

If not, do that and see if that helped.

I downloaded all the P2 exe files. My P2 was at 3.04 version and now 3.06 (I think). Anyway it said I'm up to date. I got all greens. Although I don't remember the IMU calibration part. Was that in the Advanced section? I better go through it again.