Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Rooftop Pad and permanent antennas

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision + Discussion' started by Brottworks, Mar 4, 2015.

  1. Brottworks

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New Olreans LA. USA
    Yes I'm a newbie, but as newbie architects, my wife and I designed and built this- http://www.glassartists.org/Gal37447_Br ... Studio.asp
    at 45 feet tall in the heart of Uptown New Orleans it's above all but a the tallest 3 or 4 trees for 3/4+++ miles, with un-obstructed views and flat roof/decks- that make for the safest heli-pad i'v found for my DJI-P2V+3.0 in this busy Neighborhood. thenewfreret.com
    All may give us the appearance of $... Alas- we are both professional Artists (NOT "trusta-fari")- so I must use this hobby for good- and plan to do damage assessment and other (?) after our next big storm from this ICF and steel monster, rated for 240+ mph winds- with backup power(s)/water, roll downs + etc...etc...... A safe shelter to ride out the worst... Hopefully...
    But as Katrina, Rita, Gustav, Ike, Isaac, and other hurricanes have taught Information is power- so when winds go down- I fly up and post for those who wisely left- but need to see ASAP!!!! Is my roof damaged? Did a tree hit? Do I need to rush home or?...
    Sounds great, but $ (and my time) is still a BIG an issue, but as "form follows function" and I build UL listed
    http://brottworks.com/ I could do glass insulated helical antennas that not only function- but could also work and sell as wicked cool lit up sculptures... To help offset costs and this time now...
    So i'm staring my mods with step 1 stage 1-
    http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B005UW ... DZ03XONGGK
    but I want to mount 2.4 and 5.8 powered antennas permanently to my lighting suppression- or at 30 deg. (?) below where I have my TV antennas- and weather stations.
    http://www.wunderground.com/personal-we ... KLANEWOR33
    Have been looking at-
    http://www.getfpv.com/
    been watching Y-tube Vids...
    but have not seen others with permanent setups?...
    I learned durring Mardi Gras this past year EMS and others flood bandwith, so the programed grids I wanted to fly above City Streets will be a HUGE issue!!!! if I don't either blast my 2.4ghz and 5.8 and or build my own X (?) powered X in the sky above to be safe and not force return to home or crash.
    ANY HELP OR ADVISE WOULD BE GREATLY APPRECIATED!!!!!!
    I have power up there, and want to set up and NOT take down, but could hinge/pin and drop for lightning or wind shear.
    Do I go big- 8 watt amp for 2.4?
    Or will 2 Watt work best/fine?
    5.8Ghz amps are expensive can I build my own or use use a Boscam FPV Audio Video 5.8G 200mW AV Wireless TX Transmitter?
    Does AMP work best at start of SMA run at RC or where it meets antenna?
    Am I just being STUPID and should stick with what others have proved to have worked?...
    May just start small with-
    14Dbi panel on RC and Mushroom for 5.8Ghz
    http://www.amazon.com/Andoer-Mushroom-A ... na+for+DJI
    and ? for my 2.4 from
    http://www.getfpv.com/fpv.html?cat=49&frequency=142
    ANY OTHER ADVISE HELPS!!!!
    THANKS!!!!!
    Andy Brott
     
  2. bbfpv

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2015
    Messages:
    3,745
    Likes Received:
    1,092
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
  3. mede8er

    Joined:
    May 26, 2014
    Messages:
    307
    Likes Received:
    4
    Too bad you bought a phantom....you could have achieved this easily with UHF....
     
  4. Brottworks

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New Olreans LA. USA
    thanks-
    and sorry for my
    ...
    Will
    and or re-post on that.
    I guess I am
    and I good at over-complicating...
    A link to a rooftop take off and surroundings is at-
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=L360jSRrpsI
    Thanks again,
    AB
     
  5. happydays

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2013
    Messages:
    1,846
    Likes Received:
    655
    Location:
    Warrenpoint, Ireland
    Erm, what language was that in? :D :D :D
     
  6. Brottworks

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New Olreans LA. USA
    Sorry I don't think or write like the rest of y'alls-
    After much research and most importantly help from http://www.fpvlr.com -yes they are as good as others say-
    I have isolated problems and found solutions-
    My home/studio/heli-pad is surrounded by so much 2.4 ghz and 5.8ghz interference I need to change to 433mhz for control and 1.3ghz for vid.
    I could try a low price fix from Hobby King using a OrangeRx
    http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/stor ... ible_.html
    That fits a Turnigy 9XR pro
    http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/stor ... dule_.html
    For the 433mhz
    and something like this-
    http://www.dx.com/p/1-2ghz-1500mw-wirel ... Psjy_nF8Zh
    for the 1.2ghz or other lower prices options?
    or-
    Solve with a Dragon Link system.
    https://www.fpvpro.com/dragon-link-long ... rc-systems
    but those get expensive- especially when I only need to fly 1 to 3 miles and get home safe.
    I'm on the hunt for vids and info on what works? and what to avoid?...
    Best- and sorry my rambles read like Ulysses...
    Andy
     
  7. Mori55

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2014
    Messages:
    1,993
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    NJ-USA
    How do you know there's so much interference ? Are you just assuming ? People fly these things in urban environments all the time.
    You wasted your money if your ripping everything out of it.
    Think maybe your being a little paranoid or **** ? Don't take this wrong but why is your area any worse than any other big city ?
     
  8. paulgrenga

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2014
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    2
    What type of cable are you going to use between the wifi repeater and the controller to the roof top amps and antennas?

    I think your ideas are great. I'd love to do something similar with permanent antennas but I haven't figure out: 1. where to get 50' long cables that actually work; 2. how to put enough power into a omni directional antenna to actually get any distance (2 amps is not enough, I've tried.). A yagi and FPVLR's antennas are very directional. Without omni antennas, I think you'd need a pretty expensive antenna tracker on your roof.

    Good luck! keep us posted.
    Paul
     
  9. Brottworks

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New Olreans LA. USA
    Thanks-
    Mori55 you are VERY correct to ask-
    Had a crash this Mardi Gras (Bacchus Night or Sunday for the rest of y'all) when our neighborhoods are flooded with people and so much cell phone and other (?) traffic, you text to communicate as most cell calls wont go through.
    + Spoke to a licensed CB/ham radio friend, who says our local EMS (or others?) use special event or emergency transmitters that blast and scramble even his signals during parades- as my end goal is to fly off and record after a hurricane- for past storms, conditions were the same with only text messages on cells .
    Paranoid and **** are great traits to have when backups to backups matter....
    My bigger problem is not to make an *** out of me (not you) and assume a 433mhz and a 1.2ghz sytem is a quick fix- What frequencies does my Police, Fire and EMS use?
    + Most will evacuate and or loose power in our next big storm- won't that open up 2.4ghz and 5.8ghz?
    My choice of a P2V+ exposes my "newbie"ness...
    so I'm looking into a US Level 1 License to learn basics
    http://www.arrl.org/getting-your-technician-license
    and graciously thank you and others for your knowledge and input on all.
    Don't know, but my phone shows 10 to 30 named wifi networks from where I fly (will check Bluetooth next time) and were on a BUSY restaurant row http://thenewfreret.com/ with 3 coffee shops within 1500 feet.
    And lastly our demographics mixed with notoriously bad internet speeds (lucky to get 7mbps on a good day) has made many assume a wifi range booster mixed with magic will speed things up, many folks own and use them.
    BIG THANKS to all for your input.
    Best
    Andy
     
  10. barefootbeachcombing

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2014
    Messages:
    509
    Likes Received:
    107
    Location:
    US
    Andy, good luck with whatever you end of doing.

    Just any FYI, here's how your OP came across to the casual reader who doesn't live inside your head. Spending a bit more time composing your posts rather than just posting everything you are thinking might make it easier for others to follow what you are saying and thus provide suggestions and assistance.

    This is how it came across ... at least to me ... and based on some other responses, possibly to others as well. My two cents.
     
  11. Mori55

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2014
    Messages:
    1,993
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    NJ-USA
    But you have no idea what caused your crash. Your just assuming. I've seen videos of people flying in NYC and busy cities all over the world. How about trying something like fpv booster ? You do know these things do crash at times ! Are you sure there was no pilot error involved ?
     
  12. Brottworks

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New Olreans LA. USA
    Thank you- Mr. or Mrs. Or Ms. barefootbeachcombing
    for the critique- me no gooderer at communications without the truth...
    Tea? I buy it loose http://tattletea.coffeebeandirect.com/
    and this http://tattletea.coffeebeandirect.com/g ... n-tea.html
    is SPECTACULAR !!! go loose- skip the bags and french press it- with RO water at 180f for 2 to 3 minuntes.
    **** I did it again.
    Sorry...
    What caused my crash? Icarus me stupid did- in not pushing "Return to Home" the moment the phantom acted lost and wondered off GS flight path.
    Still don't know if power loss or a tree took it down- and ended the fly off before it hit the Bacchus Parade route or Mississippi River, or...
    And yes I am
    flew the same route I crashed on today- no problems so...?...
    I'm sure they would help- as would anything from http://fpvlr.com/shop/index.php?route=common/home .
    But the more I read on a 433hrz switch, the more the ROI makes sense.
    + with 9 channels- I could make a Disco Godzilla Pinata covered in small mirror chips that hangs from my landing gear and shoots lasers and spins with switches/motors (just kidding- for now)...
    Gotta run and thanks,
    Andy
     
  13. paulgrenga

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2014
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    2
    I think I figured this out and am wondering if someone with microwave experience would check my work. Using a standard p2v+ with a 2.4 ghz repeater and 5.8 ghz contoller, 2 - 2.4ghz sunshans amps, 2 - 5.8ghz sunshans amps, 2 6db antenuators, and 100' of rg58 cable (because its cheap and flexible) I think you can construct a 50' run to a rooftop fixed antenna array which would get you significant fpv and control distances.

    I used this calculator: http://www.saarsham.net/coax.html to determine db and power loss.

    If you connect the antenuator between the repeater and a 2000mw amp then run 50' of rg58 to a second amp of the same power, you should get 91 mw entering the rooftop amp, which would be adequate. The bi-directional "pre-amp" in the sunshans should make up for the 13db loss from the 50' cable at 2.4ghz.

    Likewise, if you connect the antenuator between the 5.8ghz contoller and a 2000mw 5.8ghz amp then run 50' of rg58 to a second amp of the same power/frequency, you should get 8 mw at the rooftop amp. Although the loss would be 24db, I believe that with a one-way 5.8ghz signal comimg out of the controller, you still have sufficient gain to control the bird at distance.

    With both the 5.8 and 2.4ghz antennas, I assumed a 1.5:1 swr omni directional antenna.

    Any thoughts? Thank you,
    Paul
     
  14. Brottworks

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New Olreans LA. USA
    Great work Paul!!!
    My research on this found few if any who had done or tried, but I still love the concept of stubbing out good sma connectors and attaching wire(s) to a main hub/tower, instead of velcro and glue RC sculptures. Yeah they look cool- but SMA is very flexible and could be bundled or done as some form of cctv Siamese wire? , or as a Cat5, 6e, or, 7?
    Baluns? Interference? Done right maybe even wireless?
    Alas- I'm no expert, but after seeing http://madhak.com/?p=499
    and motorized antenna trackers-
    I wonder if notch filters or (?) could convert a $35 motorized HDTV antenna to do the same? If not, that RC'd motor could still be use to aim...
    + lastly- no expert again, but I'll bet any who try this need to do your same calculations to account for amplifier position (starts at rc or antenna pole?) and the types and lengths for it to work...? 2 watt amps- vs- 8 watt -12v dc vs other dc power? i.e.- I knew this would not be easy, SO BIG THANKS!!!!
    and best,
    Andy
     

    Attached Files: