Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Return to home

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision Discussion' started by Jay, Jul 19, 2014.

  1. Jay

    Jay

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2014
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UK
    Hi all is there anyway to set the height limit that the return to home feature will fly at ?
     
  2. general01

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2014
    Messages:
    468
    Likes Received:
    4
    No there isn't
     
  3. IrishSights

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2014
    Messages:
    1,410
    Likes Received:
    37
    Location:
    Bangor, Northern Ireland, UK
    Not in firmware...however you can fly straight up say 40m and reset the homepoint. On rth it will now go 20m + the 40m. Try it yourself :)
     
  4. Jay

    Jay

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2014
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UK

    That's a good idea thanks for that will give it a go. :)
     
  5. Jay

    Jay

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2014
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UK
    Maybe they will add this feature sometime
     
  6. ProfessorStein

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2014
    Messages:
    1,136
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    By "height limit" do you mean keep it LOWER than the 60ft?? There's no way to do that. But like Irish says, you can easily set it HIGHER than 60ft by resetting the home point once you're in the air. No real need to add the feature, since it's so easy to set specifically for the given situation of your current flight.

    And no matter how high you set your homepoint, your Phantom will still come down softly to the ground on RTH.
     
  7. Jay

    Jay

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2014
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UK
    I mean to set the limit higher
     
  8. BigTulsa

    Joined:
    May 29, 2014
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Tulsa, OK
    Actually if you're already higher than 20m (66 ft), then it will just stay at that altitude until it gets to the home point, then will start descending. I tend to try and fly it higher than 60 feet if I'm going to be far enough out that I think the controller will disconnect. I guess if you want to reset the home point directly above you at altitude that would work, however keep in mind that the vehicle doesn't descend very fast when in Failsafe. I've never tried resetting the home point anyplace other than on level ground, so I can't speak as to how well it works. I did today emulate a disconnect in Naza-M mode with the S1 switch for the first time and let it fly itself back completely to see how accurate it would be. In a 15mph wind it landed within 5 feet of my home spot. That's pretty impressive given the wind.