Return to home issue

Reaction score
I am totally new to flying drones. I have a Phantom 3 Standard. I just ran into an issue and would like to know if there is a programming resolution. While out flying it this evening, I experimented in landing the drone on my neighbors driveway which was about 200 yards away. I was up about 200' and brought it down to his driveway. When I got down to about 30', I lost signal and the drone attempted to return to home. In doing so, it only rose to about 90' before it began its home return. 90' was not high enough to clear a tree in its path. Luckily I gained signal back and was able to raise it to clear the tree. Can the drone be programmed to raise to a higher altitude before it begins to fly home? Any help would be appreciated.

Reactions: jeronesi2k2002
You can set a higher Return-to-Home Altitude in the "Main Controller Settings" section of DJI GO. Keep in mind that this setting can only be changed while DJI GO is connected to your Phantom. Also, it'll be reset after installing new firmware.

You can set a higher Return-to-Home Altitude in the "Main Controller Settings" section of DJI GO. Keep in mind that this setting can only be changed while DJI GO is connected to your Phantom. Also, it'll be reset after installing new firmware.
why don't people read up before they fly these things really

Got it!!! It was set for 30 meters. I bumped it up to 85. Thank you!!

why don't people read up before they fly these things really

I did plenty of reading up on this. So I missed something. Isn't this what a forum is for? Maybe someday I will know it all like you do.

Last edited:
Reactions: dudemang
I did plenty of reading up on this. So I missed something. Isn't this what a forum for? Maybe someday I will know it all like you do.
go on you tube and watch some videos plus you might want to bump up the height some more just to be safe