Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Return to Home... do you trust it?

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by Otis, Jun 13, 2015.

  1. Otis

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2015
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    25
    After seeing many videos of fly-aways on various Tube channels, I am not confident to push that RTH button. I am also afraid to let the DJI Pilot App do it automatically at low battery time. Usually because it is so far away I just don't want to chance it without knowing the experiences of others.

    Any issues with RTH worth mentioning? Has anyone else been hesitant to try it? Also, does RTH work right if you are not connected to the Internet with your FPV device?
     
  2. Mal_PV2_Ireland

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2014
    Messages:
    2,589
    Likes Received:
    1,230
    Location:
    Dublin Ireland
    Forget the word flyaway, it's something that used to be a fault nearly 2 years ago but is still used today mainly by new pilots to put blame on crashes mainly due to pilot error because they didn't know what they were doing and panicked. Rth is fine and very useful at times. Just test it out in wide open areas first at not too far a distance away so you build up your own confidence in it. Make sure you know your phantom and that it has home lock, sat lock and you know if you are in gps/atti
     
    Mario_SB, woobisah, jlo and 4 others like this.
  3. herby

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2015
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    16
    i'm still practicing but the times i've had my phantom at about 100ft up and I hit the return button, the drone descended. I had set the return to home altitude to 50m in which the drone is suppose to ascend to 50m then descend once its on the home position. I could be wrong in the way i went about it.

    I was however able to override the RTH by taking control of the stick, in which case I trusted the drone up and brought it home manually.
     
    Otis likes this.
  4. Oso

    Oso

    Joined:
    May 19, 2015
    Messages:
    2,519
    Likes Received:
    1,474
    Location:
    Sacramento CA
    I totally trust it. The only thing I ever worry about is if the default RTH altitude is set high enough for my surroundings, and if a radius around the home point is clear overhead.

    That being said, I never use it unless I am just demonstrating the functionality to someone. I prefer to fly back and land myself, but I love knowing that RTH is there and that I know how to use and override if I need to do that.
     
    #4 Oso, Jun 13, 2015
    Last edited: Jun 13, 2015
  5. RCRookie

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    703
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    East Texas
    I also trust it and use it frequently. If you live in densly forested areas it is a must.
     
    kjopc likes this.
  6. tcope

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2015
    Messages:
    3,508
    Likes Received:
    1,386
    Location:
    Salt Lake City, UT
    You may want to read up on RTH because it has nothing to do with a data connection. It simply either flies up to a preset height or remains at it's height if its higher and flies straight back to where it took off. It does this via GPS.

    Each person is different but I _never_ hit RTH just to hit it. I _always_ fly back myself if possible. I like to be in 100% control of the Phantom at all times. Turning control over to the Phantom opens the door for something to go wrong. If you fly out and get a low battery warning and hit RTH, it will RTH much slower than you can fly yourself. Also, with RTH, you can't easily turn as well when under manual control. Yes you do have some control but it's a little less then flying manually.

    With that said, do I trust it? Yup. It works.
     
    Brett_Meyer likes this.
  7. Pohlease

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    I unintentionally flew my inspire 2.1 miles away from the house. Full signal the whole time before I started to loose a little signal quality. I hit return to home and when the drone turned around I lost video for about five seconds. It flew home straight as an arrow with no issues.
     
    Otis likes this.
  8. snerd

    Joined:
    May 5, 2015
    Messages:
    2,633
    Likes Received:
    1,585
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    Yes. It works great.
     
  9. snowghost

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2015
    Messages:
    1,056
    Likes Received:
    212
    Location:
    SoCal, USA
    Yes and it's cool if you're videoing as it does a slow 180.
     
    Mal_PV2_Ireland likes this.
  10. NickCopter

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2015
    Messages:
    471
    Likes Received:
    141
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, Michigan
    I used to never trust it, but now I use it religiously.

    It's honestly an amazing feature, and I use it to return home any chance I get
     
  11. herby

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2015
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    16
    it seems like you guys haven't had any issues with it. I must be doing something wrong for my drone to be descending as soon as I hit the RTH button although the RTH altitude is set much higher. I will do a system check, it maybe a wrong setting. When the drone comes home is it on spot right where it took off?
     
    #11 herby, Jun 13, 2015
    Last edited: Jun 13, 2015
  12. Bratinov

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2015
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    4
    I only use it when I'm not sure where the Phantom is. (small phone screen is of little help).
    I always give it more altitude while its returning and always take control back when I spot it.
     
  13. loganboyd

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2013
    Messages:
    398
    Likes Received:
    117
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    I've had a Phantom 1, a Phantom 2 and now a Phantom 3 Pro. I've used RTH well over 100 times and it has worked EVERY TIME.
    But then again, I also let it sit on the ground in place after powering it on and wait for the LED lights or Pilot App to tell me it has a GPS home lock ;)
     
  14. loganboyd

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2013
    Messages:
    398
    Likes Received:
    117
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    You have to set it to GO HOME AND LAND and not LAND. RTH Height won't matter if it's set to LAND.
     
    Oso likes this.
  15. AHill

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2013
    Messages:
    227
    Likes Received:
    23
    If you are less than a certain distance away (60 feet?) it will land straight down with RTH.
     
    JBG, loganboyd and Oso like this.
  16. Coldfire

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2015
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    90
    I use rth all the time but take over controls once I can see it.
     
    snowghost likes this.
  17. herby

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2015
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    16
    Perhaps I was about 60ft when I tried it lol. I will try a further distance next time.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  18. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,782
    Likes Received:
    5,530
    Location:
    US
    RTH works well for me. Just don't hit the throttle when your Phantom is ascending to the RTH altitude. If you do, it'll start returning home at its current altitude.
     
  19. brushlesheaven

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2014
    Messages:
    250
    Likes Received:
    6
    6.20 min of my overexposed video you will see RTH, came back perfectly, same spot dead on...
     
    #19 brushlesheaven, Jun 13, 2015
    Last edited: Jun 13, 2015
  20. Jbundy63

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    Messages:
    623
    Likes Received:
    164
    I trust it but only use it in emergency. Like I lost visual of it because the skies so bright, take your eye off it for a second and can't find it Crazy
    But YES I trust it