Restricted Special Use Airspace

Reaction score
I was in US zip code 54401 this past weekend. Airmap shows pretty much the whole city being Restricted Special Use Airspace. However, I didn't see that on the sectional, and I could not find any NOTAMs or other such information from FAA sources. Either I missed something (entirely possible) or Airmap is wrong.

Can anyone more experienced than I give me the low-down? I'm still learning sectionals etc, so I'd appreciate knowing what I may have missed.

Yes, Wausau WI. I do know of the Downtown airport and KCWA and their associated airspace(s). Does something about them make the whole area "Restricted Special Use" airspace? The closest thing I could find was the Volk Field MOAs south of the area.

It's strange that Airmaps and the FAA Visualizer show Class E to the surface, but neither SkyVector or VFRMAP show that. I assume that the "Restricted Special Use" airspace is in reference to that, as opposed to a MOA, R-, or P- zone.

It's strange that Airmaps and the FAA Visualizer show Class E to the surface, but neither SkyVector or VFRMAP show that. I assume that the "Restricted Special Use" airspace is in reference to that, as opposed to a MOA, R-, or P- zone.

I believe the class E surface was very recently revoked. Airmap lists very specific "FAA permitted" flight ceilings within the "Restricted Special Use" airspace, I would have thought there would be some FAA reference, I just cannot find anything.

The Digital Chart Supplement doesn't state any airspace that I can see, but the Aeronautical Chart Bulletins says this:
"Revise WAUSAU, WI Class E. That airspace extending upward from 700 feet above the surface within a 6.8-mile radius of Wausau Downtown Airport." which may be what you had heard.

This is where I read about the Class E surface being revoked, but (I think) that's a separate issue.

https://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/pkg/FR-2017-01-13/pdf/2017-00287.pdf