Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Professional Restricted area flight questions.

Discussion in 'Phantom 3 Help' started by Birds-iView, Aug 17, 2015.

  1. Birds-iView

    Joined:
    May 27, 2014
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    6
    So this weekend there is a powerboat poker run going on in my town. Some of the best places to shoot these boats under medium/full power is in a restricted air force zone. I will be about 2-3 miles from the base (they rarely fly on weekends)

    Here is my question. I am only wanting to fly at heights around 100 or less. Probably even less than 80. I know when I start the bird it's going to give me warnings in that area. Will it let me do to 100?

    Has anyone encountered or tried flying in restricted zone? What is the outcome?
     
  2. bobmyers

    Joined:
    May 10, 2015
    Messages:
    3,611
    Likes Received:
    866
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    I would bet you wont be able to take off, if that base is that close.- although if you fly in Atti the GPS is not involved in control of the aircraft-- but it may still not let you take off or fly because the location is identified thru GPS.. interesting to hear what the other chaps have to say about this..
     
  3. Birds-iView

    Joined:
    May 27, 2014
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    6
    This is not a major airport listed on DJI site.
     
  4. III% Streve

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
    Messages:
    1,756
    Likes Received:
    515
    Its a no fly zone for a reason. Thats all that needs to be said!
     
    snowghost likes this.
  5. Birds-iView

    Joined:
    May 27, 2014
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    6
    Within limits of space.

    I guess I am far enough away that the bird will have no problems under 200'.

    100' is lower than many kits would fly
     
  6. timz5011

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2015
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    SE ALBERTA, CANADA
    ... air space starts at GL.. and for all intents and purposes 3 dimensional ..no fly.. is no fly, but how do you tell that to the birds?
     
  7. III% Streve

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
    Messages:
    1,756
    Likes Received:
    515
    Lol... Good point. And that is exactly why runways are closed from time to time. The **** birds dont understand FAA mumbo-jumbo!
     
  8. timz5011

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2015
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    SE ALBERTA, CANADA
    as an unapologetic Canadian, I shake my head when uav pilots circumvent the FAA regs and think.. "i only flew @ 50' for a couple minutes".. sorta like raping someone with just the head of your #$%&... its still against the law. just my 2 cents
     
    BigAl07, Ken Taylor and III% Streve like this.
  9. III% Streve

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
    Messages:
    1,756
    Likes Received:
    515
    Lol... analogy strangely made me laugh. Does that make me a bad person? Might have to go see a therapist now!
     
  10. timz5011

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2015
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    SE ALBERTA, CANADA
    nah.. just means you have some common sense.
     
    III% Streve likes this.
  11. NJDroneDude

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2014
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    3
    restricted is restricted, so why bother? so what altitude are you setting your rth at?
     
  12. NJDroneDude

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2014
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    3
    and dji's site also says it's not a complete list, and don't rely on it.
     
  13. Bob Denny

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2015
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Mesa, AZ
    One alternative would be to contact the controlling agency (listed on a Sectional Aeronautical Chart of the area) and ask about 100 AGL at such and such time. Maybe they'll say no or maybe yes. Don't ask, don't get. If they say yes, get a name and write down the time.
     
    III% Streve likes this.
  14. III% Streve

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
    Messages:
    1,756
    Likes Received:
    515
    That right there is always a perfect solution.
     
  15. SteveMann

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2014
    Messages:
    1,977
    Likes Received:
    652
    Location:
    Westford, MA
    Don't say Drone, say Model Aircraft. Tell the ATC person that per FAA AC91-7 you are informing them of a flight that you are planning, and give them the exact location relative to the airport in degrees and statute miles (use the sectional- You don't list your location in your profile so we can't guess which sectional you need) plus the maximum altitude and start/end time.
     
    Synnic likes this.
  16. Joao Carlos

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2015
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    42
    Use skyvector.com for aeronautical charts.
     
  17. Dronebow

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2015
    Messages:
    445
    Likes Received:
    156
    Location:
    Texas
    I'm going to be driving from Dallas to San Antonio and I really need to get there in 3 hours. It's going to be a very slow time of the day where there are likely no drivers on the highway. Is it ok for me to drive 100mph+ so I can have happen what I desire to happen?

    :rolleyes:
     
  18. 304HighDrone

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2015
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    120
    Location:
    Poca, WV
    LOL
     
  19. SANDW500

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi, ok here we go... I have permission to fly at 2 airports in MO. My Aee and other drones work well in these areas. Is there a way to get my DJI Pro to fly there? These are private air ports and other radio controlled air craft fly there also.
     
  20. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,701
    Likes Received:
    3,425
    If the airports are in the DJI no-fly dtabase, you can use aluminium foil to "blindfold" your GPS.
    That will allow you to fly with a 120 (?) ft height restriction and no GPS.
    Not a particularly satisfactory solution but that's about it.
    If the airports aren't included, you'll have no problems.