Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Replaceing P3S camera

Discussion in 'Standard/4k Discussion' started by Saad, Nov 22, 2015.

  1. Saad

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2015
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Guys,
    I crashed my P3S camera and I will order new one, but is it easy to replace it?
    I tried to search for any video but I can't find.

    Regards,
    Saad
     
  2. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    19,096
    Likes Received:
    5,623
    Location:
    US
    It's an easy repair. Check out this video:

     
  3. Saad

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2015
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you msinger,
    This video for Adv. and I have the standard one.
    I can see one connector and 2 wires black and grey. I'm asking about these 2 wires, are they easy to remove or I need special tools?
     
  4. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    19,096
    Likes Received:
    5,623
    Location:
    US
    It's actually a Phantom Professional. The removal process is the same for the Phantom Standard though. If you watch the video above, you can see how he easily removes the cables with his bare hands.
     
  5. Saad

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2015
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's different, check this pic

    [​IMG]
     
  6. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    19,096
    Likes Received:
    5,623
    Location:
    US
    You're correct. The camera/gimbal is not the same. I thought you were asking about the removal/installation process though. I don't know that the design differences matter here.
     
  7. Saad

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2015
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Guys,
    Any help here?
     
  8. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    19,096
    Likes Received:
    5,623
    Location:
    US
    What do you need help with?
     
  9. Saad

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2015
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    how to de-attach and attach the 2 single wires?
     
  10. Sting

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2015
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    Unfortunately, I just went through the process of replacing my P3-S gimbal and camera. Got it all done and for some reason I am not getting a visual feed? The gimbal is working, it takes commands from the wheel on the controller - the camera just isn't taking commands or displaying a picture on my iPhone - - I'm thinking I didn't get one of the wires correctly seated/connected to the mini jack on the housing - - any other perspectives?
     
  11. Saad

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2015
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Actually this is exactly what happened to my phantom after replacing the camera.
    I've contacted DJI support and they said it may to update the firmware. But I'mnot able to update it because the aircraft doesn't connect to DJI app.
    They also said that I may installed the camera incorrectly and I need to send it to the local center.
    I'll try to recheck the cables again..
    I really don't know what to do... and I don't know why replacing the camera causes this issue...
    I started to get bored of this phantom... after paying almost 1000 $ ( phantom + camera) I can't fly it and I don't know why!!!
     
  12. Sting

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2015
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    Maybe you can do an update by reconnecting the old camera - which in my case works partially- updating the firmware- and then re-installing the new one?
     
  13. Saad

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2015
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    I thought of this... but my old camera is broken and I'm not sure if the update will continue normally or not.
    Actually the old camera is working but the gimbal is broken and it gives gimbal overload issue.
     
  14. Sting

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2015
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    Same with mine! I'm going to try it - I'll let you know how it goes.
     
  15. Saad

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2015
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok... Hope it will work ☺
     
  16. Saad

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2015
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    I updated the phantom
    I attached the old camera and updated the firmware successfully but still have the same issue
    Aircraft not connected
    When I attache the old one the aircraft connects normally, when i attache the new one it doesn't connect.
     
  17. Saad

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2015
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    any thoughts please...
     
  18. TG3S

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2015
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    20
    Yes, it's very easy to attach.. Those two single wires are for the 2.4 ghz FPV antennas.. They are u.fl connectors and snap right in like buttons..
     
  19. Sting

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2015
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    I've double check the wires, they're attached correctly, same problem. Beginning to think its a bad camera -

    Is there a DJI resource I can call?
     
  20. Sting

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2015
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    Okay, I gave a quick call to DJI tech support and their rep gave me a checklist of things to try. Its embarrassing, but the solution for me was to re-bind the unit (pg 24 of the manual) - everything is working as advertised!