Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

replace camera/gimball

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision + Discussion' started by geefi868, Jun 26, 2014.

  1. geefi868

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello everybody,

    After I started with my first vision+ two weeks ago, I made the mistake to fly without waiting for the gps fix. Before I knew it the vision+ went into a tree and of course there was a smal water under it. Result -> water damage. My stupid mistake.

    My second vision+ just fell out of the sky at about 10 meters in the air. This was not my mistake, but the result is that my gimbal went crazy.

    I have read some topics about it and I understand that it is broken. It still gives footage, but the gimbal itself does not work/calibrate anymore.

    My question is the following :
    Is it possible to replace the original gimbal with another one (not the stock) and still use the original camera ?
    is it possible to replace the complete gimbal/camera for a go pro and still use the fpv on my iPhone ?

    Or am I stuck with a 'normal' Phantom ' ?

    Thanks you for reading my topic.
    I tried to write it as good as possible. I assume I made some writing errors, but on the other hand......my Dutch is better than most of yours ;)

    gr. Wim
     
  2. yali

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2013
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    0
    What caused your second v+ fell out of the sky?
     
  3. geefi868

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think a combination of wind and descending....
     
  4. yali

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2013
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    0
    so you end up with 2 broken vision plus?
     
  5. geefi868

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yup, but that is reality.
    Now I would like to het an answer to the questions Please.
     
  6. AllanVB

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2014
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    there is a thread on aftermarket, do a search for 3 axis
     
  7. geefi868

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Oké Thanks !
     
  8. yali

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2013
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    0

    The answers to your questions are all yes.

    Here is how with video:

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BHZ1BR7pZXU