Removing PV2+ camera & training advice

Reaction score
I have not flown this plane before writing this query, but in my experience in flying quads, I usually find a way to crash them. While I have an aftermarket gimbal guard installed under the landing legs, I would like to further protect my investment by removing the gimbal/camera altogether. I notice that the gimbal is attached by two plastic rods with each rod having a anchor that passes through a one-way washer. Is there a simple way to remove the two rods while protecting the two one-way washers for reuse?

I've ordered a new set from DJI but they haven't arrived yet from HongKong wherever.

NEXT question: I've been advised to fly/train in the manual mode (S1 in 3rd position, I think) without using any flight control aids. I've flown the mini L'l Dragan trainer with moderate success in 3-5 mph winds. I've also flown 4-6 other quads indoors.

So, do you recommend starting out in manual mode? If not, in what other mode?

Thanks for the advice, Tim

The Phantom is much easier to fly than any other quad you've tried.
Whoever recommended starting out in manual mode either knows nothing or they hate you.
The default Phantom GPS mode is the only way to start.
It has a lot of built-in safety.
Beginning in manual mode you will crash.

You can remove the camera but that also removes your telemetry so you can't see any of the good things DJI has given you to help flying.
You will not have any indication of battery level, GPS sats, distance, altitude, speed or the radar display.
It is possible to get the drop pins out without destroying them but it's fiddly.

Again don't even imagine starting in manual mode.

Thank you Meta4 for your comments.

I'm very familiar with the flight controllers like NAZA, pixhawk, and others plus the sensors they use, etc. My intent was only to practice launching and landing, then to control the aircraft manually for