Remove gimbal for learning flights?

Reaction score
First, just this hour I received my new Phantom 3 Vision+ v3.0, my first quad copter, and can't wait to fly! But I am, with difficulty, restraining myself until I can safely pilot my new baby. I've done a lot of reading and have also purchased a Syma X5 4 Channel 2.4GHz RC Explorers Quad Copter to learn the basics of quad flight.

My thought is to remove the gimbal assembly from my Vision+ when I start flying it, at least until I feel I am a competent pilot. Obviously, I don't want to damage the $700 gimbal/camera assembly.

Is this a bad idea?

Not a bad idea. That is smart, also practice with smaller and cheaper quads.
Have to be gentle when removing wires and connectors.

edonovanl said:
First, just this hour I received my new Phantom 3 Vision+ v3.0, my first quad copter, and can't wait to fly! But I am, with difficulty, restraining myself until I can safely pilot my new baby. I've done a lot of reading and have also purchased a Syma X5 4 Channel 2.4GHz RC Explorers Quad Copter to learn the basics of quad flight.

My thought is to remove the gimbal assembly from my Vision+ when I start flying it, at least until I feel I am a competent pilot. Obviously, I don't want to damage the $700 gimbal/camera assembly.

Is this a bad idea?

Not a bad idea at all... you're removing one possible expensive part to repair and (while you can't do FPV without a camera obviously) you are limiting the possible financial impact of a crash

The Phantom will be moderately lighter without the gimbal - so don't get too used to the flight times - and there could be an ever so slight different feeling flying with less weight - but go for it.

There is one issue with removing the gimbal: You lose flight data via the app.

However, you can fix this easily enough by rerouting the 6-pin cable from the back of the wifi module and plug the other end into the CAM port on the main board.