Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Remote external antenna for flying from indoors

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by dmark1867, Jan 20, 2016.

  1. dmark1867

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2015
    Messages:
    235
    Likes Received:
    40
    Given these assumptions; outside the United States and in an extremely remote location (over 300 miles from any civilization). If you had a bunker and wanted to be able to fly a PSP from inside, could you connect something to your remote to take the antenna outside so you can operate it from inside?
     
  2. kandelin16

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    47
    Your scenario is pretty hard core. I fly from inside with stock antennas when it's cold outside.


    Sent from my iPod touch using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  3. Oso

    Oso

    Joined:
    May 19, 2015
    Messages:
    2,517
    Likes Received:
    1,474
    Location:
    Sacramento CA
    A member here, @Hunter Clark , installed a roof antenna and used to make long range flights and live stream them.
     
  4. Cale262

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2015
    Messages:
    381
    Likes Received:
    124
    Location:
    Alberta/Arizona
    I fly my Phantom from inside my vehicle when its cold but have been playing with the idea of an external mounted antenna...I have the DBS itelite so I'm thinking I can just get some longer cables and mount another DBS antenna on the roof of my jeep (thinking of using the lightbar) and then simply attaching the RC to the cables and flying as such... I think the same would work for your "bunker" idea, you just need to decide on what type of antenna and find a way to mount it and rotate it if necessary.
     
  5. Wolfiesden

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2016
    Messages:
    1,187
    Likes Received:
    400
    Location:
    Milwaukee, WI, Ft Walton Beach, FL
    I can't imagine why not. Its RF. Pretty standard stuff. Should be able to hack the RC to put coax connectors, probably a Type-N or similar. You would need very low loss transmission line and that won't be cheap either. At 2.4 or 2.8ghz, waveguide is more efficient at moving the RF. Its also more expensive and less flexible. But it has the advantage of being able to feed directly into a reflector array to radiate RF (and pick it up).

    I don't know how the antennas are configured, but I suspect its similar to WiFi routers and such where one antenna is used to transmit, the other for receive.
     
  6. ChristopherGlenn

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2016
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    11
    This video:

    Shows adding external antennas to the transmitter, with amps. The EXACT same thing as far as internal to the remote. Then you run a pair of antenna cables from your control room to the external antennas of your choice. I would put a pair of amps as close as possible to the antennas. All your equipment needs to be 2.4ghz.
     
  7. alokbhargava

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2015
    Messages:
    5,041
    Likes Received:
    1,622
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    Interesting topic.
     
  8. Wolfiesden

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2016
    Messages:
    1,187
    Likes Received:
    400
    Location:
    Milwaukee, WI, Ft Walton Beach, FL
    I believe there is a 5ghz tranceiver involved as well. I think the Inspire uses a 5ghz link between pilot and camera operator RCs. Doesn't the Inspire and the P3A and P3P all have the same RC now? If so, then I would presume they would have the 5ghz link hardware. Maybe not used for the P3x. But it might still be there.

    Has anyone cracked their RC open and compared it to the Inspire 1 RC? Are they indeed identical (short of firmware I would presume)?
     
  9. Cale262

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2015
    Messages:
    381
    Likes Received:
    124
    Location:
    Alberta/Arizona

    The RC's only look alike, the internals are very different...I cracked mine to install the DBS Mod Itelite but was watching the Inspire Instructional video and was somewhat confused at first until I realized I was watching the wrong video.
     
    #9 Cale262, Jan 20, 2016
    Last edited: Jan 20, 2016
    Wolfiesden likes this.
  10. Wolfiesden

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2016
    Messages:
    1,187
    Likes Received:
    400
    Location:
    Milwaukee, WI, Ft Walton Beach, FL
    Thanks, thats good info there. I was kinda hoping that was not the case. Would have been cool to be able to use our P3 remotes as, say, camera remotes on an Inspire. Oh well. I am sure it was a cost issue.
     
  11. ChristopherGlenn

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2016
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    11
    So the P3 pro and advanced are only 2.4, the 4k and standard are 5.8 radio, 2.4 video.
    The inspire 1 is 5.8 and 2.4, not specifying which is which.
     
  12. shockwave199

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2014
    Messages:
    1,066
    Likes Received:
    404
    Alright kids, I finally found this video I saw quite a while back. Now, this is sweet man. Extreme, but sweet!

     
    Oso likes this.
  13. rhoffart

    Joined:
    May 11, 2015
    Messages:
    406
    Likes Received:
    187
    Location:
    Boerne, Texas
    So does anyone know what these are? This is a screen shot taken from the video. They appear to be so type of boosters.
     

    Attached Files:

  14. WetDog

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2015
    Messages:
    1,491
    Likes Received:
    640
    Those appear to be RF 'boosters' (transceivers). They work, can be cranky of installation. May well run you afoul the FCC or relevant authority in your neck of the woods (if you care about these sorts of things). Seem to cost around $500 or so.
     
  15. Cale262

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2015
    Messages:
    381
    Likes Received:
    124
    Location:
    Alberta/Arizona
  16. shockwave199

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2014
    Messages:
    1,066
    Likes Received:
    404
    They are boosters common with the fpvlr mod. What isn't shown and what I wish could be seen is the antennas on the truck and how the wires are run. The boosters I suppose are really needed in that setup to counter loss from the extra distance. I have fplv with booster on my q500 and the boosters do great. That truck is quite a rig but I'd kill that copter sound track right quick.
     
  17. Cale262

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2015
    Messages:
    381
    Likes Received:
    124
    Location:
    Alberta/Arizona
    Just do a google search for "2016 Sunhans 3W 2.4GHz Signal Booster". I've found them for anywhere between $50-120 USD each, shopping around will net you the best price.

    Sunhans
     
    #17 Cale262, Jan 22, 2016
    Last edited: Jan 22, 2016
  18. rhoffart

    Joined:
    May 11, 2015
    Messages:
    406
    Likes Received:
    187
    Location:
    Boerne, Texas
    Thanks, so that will work for both antenna's, both are 2.4 ghz?
     
  19. LarsR

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2016
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Norway
    Did a 4,5km trip today from my living room. No external antennas
     
    rulppa likes this.
  20. ScatSpeak

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2015
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    75
    Location:
    MO, USA
    Nice one @LarsR!!