Regarding the Phantom 2 vision (not plus)

Reaction score
The cost of a replacement 3 axis gimble for my Vision plus is $670.00 from Amazon. Amazon has a new P2 vision on sale for $799.00. The P2 vision only has a single axis gimble, but it supports all the data from the vision app. I looked for how much it would cost to replace the single axis system in case of a crash and could not find a replacement listed. Does that mean that unlike the "plus" they don't break as often? They look a lot sturdier in the photos. I am not a professional photographer, just a hobbyist having fun. So having the 3 axis is not a necessity. Anyone have experience with the P2 vision, good or bad?
If I go this way it will give me 3 battery,s and 2 chargers, but still with a P2 plus with no camera.
Ah, decisions....... :roll:

Thanks

The Vision camera system fairs better in a crash as it is beefier & less complex. It can still be broken, and the Vision camera was $499 the last time I checked. While the Vision does have a "single axis gimbal," it is driven by a standard RC servo and does not appear to be very fast or precise as far as stabilization goes. It is more for tilt than stabilization, and you cannot tilt the camera straight down. Although the cameras are essentially identical internally, the lack of a stabilized gimbal on the standard Vision produces horribly inferior video. Consider that carefully when making your selection. Below is a side-by-side video comparison of the Vision vs. Vision+:

[youtube]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dBUQrLe94Ms[/youtube]

Dirty Bird said: