red orientation indicator is offsett

Reaction score
Howdy,
This is my first post, I have a p4 I am very new to the quad copter scene. I have been flying in my yard in beginner mode and am getting ready to move to a bigger space so I can get some confidence in the various modes and things this bird is capable of and how to operate them correctly. One thing I cant seem to get straight is the red paper airplane orientation indicator in the lower left screen on the DJI go app. If i line the controller directly behind the bird with the front of the p4 facing away the red indicator should be in line with the center of the top of the circle that the indicator is in , instead on my screen the center line of the circle is straight in line and the control is in line with the bird but the red indicator on the screen points about 40 degrees to the left. I am sure i am doing something wrong but am not sure how to correct it.I tried gimbal calibration, also did imu calibration. Tried controller calibration but it wont finish just keeps wanting me to move the sticks 100 percent in each direction. I am at a loss and open to suggestions.
Thanks
edit to add i also calibrated the compass

Last edited:
Howdy,
I must have worded this as confusing as i could make it.
Essentially I am wondering how to tell what direction the front of the bird is facing when it is way out there . Even if still in line of sight I need to be able see the direction the bird is facing easily and reliably so I can move the sticks in the correct direction . I hope that clears up my first post a little. Thanks for looking.
captain kush

So i am looking back at the phantom 4 user manual which isnt much help without a way to access a hard copy. I see that the red airplane indicator is called flight telemetry and that it is supposed to show the direction the aircraft is facing. Can someone possibly explain to me how this is supposed to work.