Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Recovering from a loss of control link

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Help' started by Ana Freitas, Sep 9, 2016.

  1. Ana Freitas

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am preparing for my flight assessment in a few weeks and one of the requirements is to be able to recover the drone (phantom2) from a loss of control link (switching off the transmitter) NOT using a return to home function.
    On the software assistant I cant seem to find a way to disable the return home function and I cant find any information on how i would recover it without the RTH function.

    Any suggestions are very welcome!
    Thank you
     
  2. jason

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Messages:
    4,105
    Likes Received:
    404
    Location:
    Commerce Twp,MI
    I suggest you read the DJI User's Manual Turning off the transmitter is not a good option
    http://download.dji-innovations.com/downloads/phantom_2/en/PHANTOM2_User_Manual_v1.4_en.pdf
     
  3. crash1sttime

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2014
    Messages:
    926
    Likes Received:
    74
    Location:
    Manchester UK
    Turning off the transmitter just initiates a return to home and unless you have Naza enabled and have set the S1 switch bottom position to failsafe then it's the only way, I think the question is how to recover from a flyaway situation and the answer is usually to switch to ATTI mode and fly without gps, or have Naza activated and then the S2 switch gives you home lock and course lock functions
     
  4. jason

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Messages:
    4,105
    Likes Received:
    404
    Location:
    Commerce Twp,MI
    Correction failsafe is function the S1 switch bottom position of both Phantom and Naza Modes and always has been.
     
  5. crash1sttime

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2014
    Messages:
    926
    Likes Received:
    74
    Location:
    Manchester UK
    Like the red,nothing like making a point is there !!

    its been 18 months since i flew in phantom mode and was sure that in phantom mode S1 bottom and middle are both ATTI mode and i had to turn off the TX to initiate RTH
     
  6. jason

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Messages:
    4,105
    Likes Received:
    404
    Location:
    Commerce Twp,MI
    In Phantom mode S1 switch upper position is GPS, center position no ATTI and bottom position is either Normal Fly or Failsafe the choice is up to the owner. Atti is only available in the Naza mode along with IOC for S2.