Recording home position problems

Reaction score
Hi guys, a complete novice here, new to your forum and new to the phantom.

It flew beautifully right out of the box. But being an old gezzer with sight issues, I found it easy to loss orientation.

I then enabled IOC- and can see it working on my PC. However, in the air, the sticks will only work conventionally.
Selection of OFF-CL-HL has no effect.

Back on the ground motors off-1 green light flashing- I attempt to record 'home position manually by toggling between CL & HL.
This does not produce the series of green confirmation lights I think I should get.

Here is the reply from my UK distributor- quote:

Sorry for the slight delay in replying .

I can confirm there is no fault , DJI have on the later firmwares for the time being disabled IOC because it is proving difficult for many fliers.
Problem with the Phantom is that it attracts totally new pilots and they click IOC modes without even understanding the characteristics of this mode .

There is a possibility this feature will be brought back in but for the time being it is disabled.

I think this is not the case. Any thoughts please.

After searching round various forums, I reckon I am scratching a bigger issue.

It would seem that folk are assuming that the home position is being recorded automatically on take off.

Well mine does not. And without a home position being recorded 'Return Home' will not function

AKA a flyaway :eek:

The Phantom has to move at least 30 ft, or 10 meters away from it's starting position, and if you have the switch set
to HL, it will automatically start flying in HL mode.

The Phantom should automatically set home position if you let it stand for at least 8 seconds prior to lifting off.

Well,. first thing you might want to do is update your firmware to v3.10 (using the updated Naza M Software v2.10)