Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Recording altitude with homepoint.

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by aka1ceman, Dec 10, 2015.

  1. aka1ceman

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2015
    Messages:
    461
    Likes Received:
    175
    If the P3 is on the ground agl and I have the RC 5-10 ft away but Im standing on a 100ft platform. If I tell it to log the homepoint on me, which altitude will it record? Hypothetically my alt? correct?
     
  2. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,842
    Likes Received:
    5,549
    Location:
    US
    The home point is a coordinate. The current altitude will still be based off the take off location. That means your Phantom's current altitude will not change when you reset the home point.
     
  3. GadgetGuy

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2015
    Messages:
    4,448
    Likes Received:
    1,294
    I was wondering that myself. So you can't game the altitude limits by resetting the home point :(
     
  4. aka1ceman

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2015
    Messages:
    461
    Likes Received:
    175
    Resetting doesn't work. My question is at power up.
    It has to register something for altitude. If I launch, and reset home point with Litchi and the new location is in a hole or on rooftop per say. How does it know once landed? Or if it still has 10 ft to go?
     
  5. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,842
    Likes Received:
    5,549
    Location:
    US
    When you turn on your Phantom, it assumes that location is 0 ft. After that point, all future altitudes displayed in DJI GO, Litchi, etc. are based off of that location.

    It doesn't know where the ground is located. It can only tell when it stops descending. When that happens, it assumes it has landed.
     
  6. GadgetGuy

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2015
    Messages:
    4,448
    Likes Received:
    1,294
    Yes, that's also how it shuts off after 3 seconds in a handcatch when you pull the left stick all the way back and hold it there, while not allowing any further descent with your hand. Don't try that with an Inspire1, though!
     
    dirkclod likes this.
  7. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,842
    Likes Received:
    5,549
    Location:
    US
    Let us all learn from Enrique Iglesias' mistake.
     
  8. GadgetGuy

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2015
    Messages:
    4,448
    Likes Received:
    1,294
    Yeah, carbon fiber props cut like a knife. The softer plastic props on the P3P less so.