Record separate audio and add it to the video?

Reaction score
For example, for filming sport in a field. I want to record video from above with my phantom 2 vision+ and somehow record the audio of the game and synchronise it with the video later. Has anyone tried something like this, or know a good way to do it?

I was thinking of having a microphone on the ground, near the pitch OR alternatively attach a microphone to the phantom and hope that the blade noise isn't really loud. It would be cool to have some sound from the game to match up with the video footage. Any help is appreciated, thanks

I think a mini directional microphone would help. I have no experience with it but maybe you can point it downwards. I see a lot of these devices on the internet (google on it: mini directional microphone). Let us know if , how and when you tried it out! I think it is a nice idea!

Running a mic sounds like the way to go. I know it's pretty easy to add in sound in Final Cut Pro.
As far as syncing, you'd just have to match up one point in the audio to one point in the video and it should be lined up.
I would suggest that after you line it up, pull a few highlights to make your video.

You can sync sound by starting both devices, standing in front of the camera and making one big clap with your hands.

Answering my own question:
I downloaded this free app for android: https://play.google.com/store/apps/deta ... r&hl=en_GB

I used the app running in the background to record audio, while my phone was clamped onto the controller and i was using the DJI app. I then just synced up the audio with the video footage on iMovie afterwards, using pretty much the 'clap' technique described above. It worked ok. The audio range from my phone (samsung galaxy s2) seems to be ok as well, hearing sounds quite far away. If i bought a separate microphone and placed it near to the action, the audio would probably be better.

rcwhiteley said:
Answering my own question: