Recently fly away caused by version DJI GO 3.1.2 - Could I have taken control manually?

Reaction score
Hi there guys,

So I was recently hit by the bug in version 3.1.2 of the DJI GO app. I have a DJI Phantom 3 Standard. It set my home position 1400m away and I was helpless to stop it. I tried to cancel the RTH feature, but due to the fact it was obviously out of the RTH range, it overrode this command and carried on going to the new RTH point. I tried to turn the drone around and fly it back to myself and also bring it to a lower altitude but none of this seemed to work.

I was just wondering if they were anything I could have do to switch the drone to manual during the RTH sequence so I could have taken control as I was well within range of the drone when the home point first updated?

I'm new to flying so would be great if anyone had some information on this :)

Did you find it? If not get your flight logs handy and loaded on here if you know how. This forum is full of very knowledgeable people that have found several of them. I however am not one of the knowledgeable ones. Sorry.

Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots

That sucks, hope you can find it, from memory you should have been able to either cancel RTH through the app or toggling S1 to regain control (assuming you had time before it disappeared out of range). As heyjack said, get your flight records ready for uploading and the good folk on here will help you locate it if you have not located it yet.

Did you find it? If not get your flight logs handy and loaded on here if you know how. This forum is full of very knowledgeable people that have found several of them. I however am not one of the knowledgeable ones. Sorry.

Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots

I there. I did indeed find it. I used the last known co-ordinates and found it without a scratch on it in the middle of the forest! I was extremely lucky. I just feel there must be a way to have avoid it.