Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Receiver question for gurus

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Discussion' started by FedeVision, Apr 25, 2014.

  1. FedeVision

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2014
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    San Jose, Costa Rica
    Hi all, any chance to mod the P2 from 2.4ghz to 5.8ghz?

    Would it be possible to replace the P2 receiver with a P2V receiver?

    Thoughts?

    Volunteer(s)?

    :?:
     

    Attached Files:

  2. OI Photography

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    5,542
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Clarksville, TN
    Do you have the 5.8GHz controller to go with it?
     
  3. FedeVision

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2014
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    San Jose, Costa Rica
    If this works definitely would buy one.
     
  4. ianwood

    ianwood Taco Wrangler
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    4,929
    Likes Received:
    1,800
    Location:
    Lost Angeles
    It all depends if there is a coding in the Naza that says only talk to this type of receiver. Otherwise I don't see why it wouldn't work. As for volunteering... yeah, good luck with that.
     
  5. OI Photography

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    5,542
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Clarksville, TN
    Yeah I was going to say the same thing as Ian, and I've never heard of that being tried. Usually people seem to want to put a 2.4GHz setup on a P2V. I assume your goal in this is to be able to run wifi or something on your P2?
     
  6. FedeVision

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2014
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    San Jose, Costa Rica
    Exactly, run the Hero3+ wifi, mod a tablet adding a 2.4 booster + antenna and keep the lowest weight possible of the P2.
     
  7. OI Photography

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    5,542
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Clarksville, TN
    I think you could probably make all that work technically, but it might end up being a fool's errand in the long run...even if you do extend the gopro's wifi range some, you'll never get it anywhere near what a regular FPV setup can give, and the video will have some serious lag to it. The weight of a standard 5.8GHz FPV transmitter is very slight, and it likely isn't worth the amount of effort you'll have to go to just to end up with a sub-optimal solution.

    Are you using a Zenmuse or other gimbal on the P2?
     
  8. FedeVision

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2014
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    San Jose, Costa Rica
    Have a generic 2 axis gimbal so far, guess you are right, doesnt worth the effort and the expenses. Beside, no telemetry.
    Well, thank you all for your response.
     
  9. FedeVision

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2014
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    San Jose, Costa Rica
    Answer is yes, is possible to shift from 2.8 to 5.4 and vice-versa:

    viewtopic.php?f=23&t=15504


    Note for those who are considering the use of the gopro hero3+ black (and other editions) 2.4 ghz wifi as FPV,
    like I did, delay time on video signal is terrible so far, like 5 secs or even more, would not recommend it at all.