Recalibrated compass, Phantom still flys sideways.

Reaction score
I'm a novice with the phantom vision plus, but I've had about 15 successful flights since I've had it. I never veer far away from where I'm standing, and I'm just getting the hang of it. I always calibrate the compass and wait forGPS lock ons before I fly.

Yesterday I installed a camera guard and gimbal protector, and I tried to fly today. Same procedure as my last 15 flights, calibrate, wait for GPS, and then fly.

The first time it took off it immediately flew left and then I put it down into a snow bank.

Recalibrated, tried again, same thing. Tried one more time, same thing.

Is there something else I need to do to compensate for the pieces I added? I've triple checked everything is installed properly. Luckily there are no marks on the phantom, and the blades didn't even break due to me dropping it into snow.

The only variables since my 15 flawless flights and my new issue is the installation of the gimbal and camera guard. What is my next step? I'm still getting the hang of this thing, and I'm taking it really slow.

I tried a total of three times after my first crash, and ended up in the same snow bank every time. No wind, no metal near me, and I was only 5-6' off the ground.

You have either not calibrated your controller correctly, or you need to calibrate the IMU and then the compass. Try calibrating the controller with the R/C Assistant, and then connect quad to Phantom Assistant and calibrate the controller there as well, reboot quad. Then advance calibrate the IMU, reboot quad. Then do the compass calibration, run a test flight and see if all is ok at this point. Be sure to post back and share the results.

flyNfrank said: