Really stupid questions and their answers

Reaction score
Hi, I am kinda new to all this, My background is flying by wire, but that was over 50 years ago. I have been building plastic models so I can airbrush pretty good and I look forward to putting a cool skull on my quad.

But I have what is a very stupid question, I just want to confirm what I assume (making an *** out of you and me) and that is this hardware module called the GPS PUCK. Now I am aware the first letter is a p not an f so we can move past the juvenile jokes. I had to r and r my gps device and I notice it is round, is this the GPS Puck and called a puck because of it's shape? If it happened to be square would it still be called a puck or would that become confusing. Am I really confused? Now if you (whoever replies) that there is a part on that GPS Module that is called the gps puck then I will have learned something. thanks

if you google "gps puck" you'll see that many do look like a hockey puck.
..although the DJI puck looks more like a flying saucer.

the Phantom tho, does not really have a puck. just a circular shaped circuit board of a sorts inside the top shell.

Gizmo3000 said:

the Phantom tho, does not really have a puck. just a circular shaped circuit board of a sorts inside the top shell.

Oh, so different module in the Phantom 2 then the Phantom 1. I had to change the top shell on my Phantom V1.2 so I have seen the gps module. And as you suggested (I thought I had tried already) I googled gps puck and I see why it is called a puck. Now in the past I have been called a dumb puck so I feel better knowing what the heck I am talking bout. thanks

Wedeliver said:
Gizmo3000 said: