Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Realistic p3a range?

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by anotherinfidel, Jan 22, 2016.

  1. anotherinfidel

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2016
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    30
    Location:
    Kansas City
    I've done 2000ft. from me and at that point I can't hear it or see it usually and I get too worried to go further. What kind of range is ok to stay within to keep good video feed?


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  2. dand.

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2016
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    10
    Just completed my flight, went away from me 1.1Km (3600ft), and 200m(650ft) altitude. Around 1Km got warning weak signal. at 1.1 lost it completely. Don't remember at what point I got signal back but bird was on the way to home, this is very nice option.


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
     
  3. Jay H

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2015
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    68
    Location:
    Long Island, New York
    just got 20,650 ft at 300 ft alt today stock, had full signal and couldve gone further but thought i wasnt going to have enough battery. ended up landing with 20%.
     
    robbie4200 likes this.
  4. anotherinfidel

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2016
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    30
    Location:
    Kansas City
    20k and you still had video?


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  5. Jay H

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2015
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    68
    Location:
    Long Island, New York
    yea, but at from 2.5 miles in to 3miles, there is a stretch of houses so i get only 1 or 2 bars there (still have video though), then after i clear that, i go back to full signal
     
  6. anotherinfidel

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2016
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    30
    Location:
    Kansas City
    I'll have to get more brave


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  7. Jay H

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2015
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    68
    Location:
    Long Island, New York
    i wouldnt be too worried about losing video feed, although it depends where you fly. over water and open fields, you will be able to get very far distance, in an area with houses w/ wifi and urban areas, you wont be able to go too far..

    i would say just go with however far you are comfortable with. each time, go a little further and youll build confidence to go further and further.
     
  8. michnels

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2016
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    2
    I am fortunate that I live in the rural country and have tons of acres to fly over with my P3A with little interference on all channels. My biggest nemesis is tree penetration however. I need to ascend about 80 feet to get to open skies out of my preferred launch point. The tree canopy will definitely cause the video to degrade. I suspect I am going to have to mod the antenna to hopefully power my way out.

    4000 feet has been my max thus far. I have begun an aerial mapping project as a way to get mission experience and hone my skills while the bird is still reasonably close. What a rush.
     
  9. Justgregg

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2014
    Messages:
    519
    Likes Received:
    119
    Location:
    Denver Colorado
    5800ft out and back. no problems
     
  10. anotherinfidel

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2016
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    30
    Location:
    Kansas City
    Am I correct in assuming that if the phantom goes beyond RC control it will RTH?


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  11. hellbeach

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yes, if it looses connection it will initiate rth


    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
    anotherinfidel likes this.
  12. RVD98072

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2015
    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    42
    please note that video connection and RC connection are different. you might lose video but still have RC connected...and in that case it won't automatically come back.
     
  13. t2adze

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2016
    Messages:
    567
    Likes Received:
    40
    Had range test once. 2Km out and back on around 150 meter altitude.
    SIgnal wasn't lost yetthough. it was still going.
     
  14. 847guy

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2015
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    chicago
    i did about 11,000 ft away, could have went further, still had bars. 22,000 ft including returning to home. I have a antenna mod on my p3A
     
  15. GreggC

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2015
    Messages:
    259
    Likes Received:
    71
    Location:
    Rio Rancho NM
    Hey Jay,
    Are you using a windsurfer to get that range ??
    Where I fly once I get out to approx 6000' and get the weak signal,
    With my windsurfer yesterday I went out 2,9 miles,
    [​IMG]
     
    anotherinfidel likes this.
  16. Bigdz

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2014
    Messages:
    638
    Likes Received:
    121
    Location:
    San Jose, Ca
    This is the farthest I've flown, could've gone farther but got cold feet. The video did not break up either.
     
    anotherinfidel and stoneyb245 like this.
  17. Solar Deity

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2015
    Messages:
    268
    Likes Received:
    144
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    Just go a little farther each time. Every time you reach a new milestone, it's a confidence boost. Started at 1500', and thought this was pretty amazing. After 40+ flights now, 8025' is my personal best. @Dirty Bird has got some serious distance from his new P3A. Check out his post.

    Thoughts on P3 Advanced... | DJI Phantom Forum

    SD
     
  18. Jay H

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2015
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    68
    Location:
    Long Island, New York
    No windsurfer, not even sure if i need it cuz of the battery restrictions. On the lowest bitrate and channel 32. For distance, i can only fly over water because there are no large open fields where by where i live. I do get low signal passing for a little bit while passing some houses but it goes back to full signal once i pass them.
    Screenshot_2016-01-23-13-36-46.png
    This is the last half of my flight on the way back.
     
  19. anotherinfidel

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2016
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    30
    Location:
    Kansas City
    I went 3000' yesterday and never even lost a bar of signal... I'll go further next time.
     
  20. ckf

    ckf

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2016
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    25
    Location:
    Vermont
    2200 feet before I lost video feed with my P3A.