Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

RE700 compatible with Phantom 2 Vision

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision Discussion' started by yoceto, Apr 30, 2014.

  1. yoceto

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Do you know if the new wireless extender is compatible and can be bonded to the P2V (non plus) so to get the extended range?
     
  2. helixaviator

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2014
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think not but i would love to know for sure. **** DJI becoming the next apple of drones but these things even more expensive to upgrade. An iphone is only 200 every year with new contract.
     
  3. mattrobert

    Joined:
    May 11, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    The RE700 is compatible with the PV2. The RE500 that shipped with my PV2 would not stay off so I contacted DJI about getting it fixed and their service was horrible, wanted the entire aircraft for over a month. I fixed the RE500 issues myself, and in the mean time also found an RE700 through US Hobby, they said they would pull it off of a PV2+ that was returned. It looks identical to the RE500, although on the bottom sticker it does identify itself as an RE700. I was able to bind it to my P2V and achieved much better results (even better than modding the RE500 with the 2W 2.4 GHz amplifier).
     
  4. RCRookie

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    703
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    East Texas
    Do you have a link to this RE700 ? ...I can't seem to find anything about it.
     
  5. yoceto

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    It doesn't seem to be offered as a replacement part, at least for the moment. But its quite great news it can be paired with the P2V.
     
  6. HWKIDD

    Joined:
    May 30, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    hooked up a re700 to my phantom 2 vision today, just had to rebind the correct q code for the camera, also had to delete and reload the phone ap, for it to work, now to see if there is really extra range, I also got the transmitter used on the plus off of ebay, set up with out a problem, has the usb plug on the bottom, beats getting inside the thing if you need to upgrade,
     
  7. Opp5151

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2014
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey
    How success
    To connect it
    That I got
    An error message
    Such
     
  8. Opp5151

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2014
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Phantom connection
    Failed
     
  9. colonelangus

    Joined:
    May 29, 2014
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    yes its compatible and yes it doubles the range .. I just picked up a re700 and transmitter for my vision
     
  10. Opp5151

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2014
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am trying to connect
    In between.
    And can't
    Maybe we should delete
    The exponent
    The old
     
  11. colonelangus

    Joined:
    May 29, 2014
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    delete the dji vision app then reload and start over there is no reason it shouldn't work ..
     
  12. RCRookie

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    703
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    East Texas
    Anyone have a link to this RE700...USHobby has nothing advertised on their site.

    Would like to know more about it before considering an upgrade.
     
  13. pmcclain

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2014
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    2
    A see one on eBay advertised for $199 US Dollars. If this truly increases the range it probably is worth the investment. How this guy got these beats me... Be nice to purchase them direct from DJI for less?
     
  14. colonelangus

    Joined:
    May 29, 2014
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0

    I week ago they were $299.00 getting cheaper all the time..
     
  15. colonelangus

    Joined:
    May 29, 2014
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok guys I just received my dji vision+ plus transmitter and wifi ext RE700 .. I followed the instructions and binding took all of 5min to complete both steps first to bind transmitter to craft ..also to link iPhone to new wifi ext then bind camera and wifi ext together in that order as stated in instructions .. everything works as it should have not flown due to weather but have tested and hovered to ensure all is good..

    reason for doing this is a no brainer.. its a cheap easy way to get more distance both for craft and fpv basically makes vision same as the plus without the fragile camera although I don't have the fancy gimbal I don't really need it and imo I have the best of both worlds
     
  16. RCRookie

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    703
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    East Texas
    Great to hear.. I've been following this thread to find out how well this works.
    Why did you need a new TX? The RE700 would work alone with the Vision's original TX... correct.

    Also, do you know if DJI will be offering this RE700 as an "official" replacement for both Vision models in the future?

    It doesnt make sense to continue making an inferior model, if the newer one performs better. I hope this is the case. As I may want to upgrade for the distance increase as well.


    Thanks

    The Rookie
     
  17. colonelangus

    Joined:
    May 29, 2014
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    no i did not need a new tx .. just bind and go really it was that easy.. they should start upgrading the wifi on the p2v imo but who knows .. i don't think they were prepared for the sales they have received so im sure they are still playing catch up.. .. time to fly cya
     
  18. colonelangus

    Joined:
    May 29, 2014
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok update

    went out flew for couple hours without issue .. range is definitely further now.. wasn't in greatest area but still got 2600ft away at about 300ft high.. then did altitude test video crapped out at 1300ft but could have been batteries in TX near the end it started beeping ..so im going to try again with fresh batteries.. before in same area I could barely get 1200ft away and max alt was about 1200ft .. better but still not great going to recalibtate everything just to see if I overlooked something

    just noticed height setting was 1300ft and radius was 5200ft so I increased them both to see if next time limits are equal again if so ill bump them up again until I hit the ceiling so to speak
     
  19. mcseay

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2014
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    YES! I purchased and installed a RE700 today in about 10 minutes.

    This is how I did it.

    1-plugged in the RE700 to charger
    2-turned on transmitter, tablet DJI app and new RE700
    3-found Phantom 617 in Wi Fi and connected
    4-selected SETTINGS in DJI app then chose binding
    5-app prompted me to scan QR Code on Phantom 2 Vision outside box
    6-IT WORKED!
     
  20. gunslinger

    gunslinger Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2013
    Messages:
    2,722
    Likes Received:
    497
    Location:
    Least Coast...

    Actually... you just need the MAC address... Easy, peasy...

    -slinger