Re-use of FC40 parts after a bad crash

Reaction score
Greetings!
This morning I had a fatal crash of my FC40. Most likely I screwed up the compass calibration, and when it tried to flyaway I overcorrected it into the side of my house at full speed.
I have been flying this FC40 for 6 months, it was too young to die......

So, I plan to re-use the motors and speed controls in my new build. Can they swing 10" or 12" props?
Is there a cheaper place to get the DJI Naza GPS pod and PMU? Looking at the listed prices, it seems my most cost effective choice is to get a whole different Flight Controller like an Eagletree Vector.

My frame choices are pretty wide open, but depend on what blade size those motors can safely handle.

Input?

Reactions: dirkclod
What are you trying to accomplish? I've never heard of these motors driving 10 or 12 inch props.

I want to take as many parts as I can, and move to a larger frame when i rebuild.
I know i can re-use the camera+mount, my collection of batteries, and the charger.
If I could use the motors, i would likely go quad. If not, well i have seen e300 packages on ebay for decent prices. That would drive a hex nicely

Its too bad that the dji controller is locked to that board. I like the controller and would like to take it to the rebuild as well.

Its too bad that the dji controller is locked to that board. I like the controller and would like to take it to the rebuild as well.
What do you mean "locked"? It's just sticky tape, which can be pried off cleanly with patience.

I want to take as many parts as I can, and move to a larger frame when i rebuild.
I know i can re-use the camera+mount, my collection of batteries, and the charger.
If I could use the motors, i would likely go quad. If not, well i have seen e300 packages on ebay for decent prices. That would drive a hex nicely

http://www.ebay.com/itm/DJI-NAZA-BE...18?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_77&hash=item417f9d965e