Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

RC-Signal problem

Discussion in 'Standard/4k Discussion' started by Skippy[M], Apr 16, 2016.

  1. Skippy[M]

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2016
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi

    New Phantom owner here. As soon as I received my Phantom 3 Standard I carefully read everything and took it up for it's first flight after careful preparations. The flight was a huge success, took amazing photos and achieved decent range, about 600m away while at 120m altitude.

    The second flight was the same, however over night after a full recharge and set to go I could barely get past 10m height without the Return to Home function kicking in. Max distance I could get was about 30m away before once again the RC would beep and force return home. I thought this was going to be a 'one off' but unfortunatley it wasn't, it has occurred in my past three flights. The RC-Signal is so unstable.

    I'm flying in Sweden.

    What troubleshooting options can I do, or is there a problem with my hardware?

    --- This problem started after the latest firmware ---

    Thanks.
     
  2. Multicoptertec

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2016
    Messages:
    1,108
    Likes Received:
    314
    Location:
    Apollo Beach, Florida
    Since you updated firmware, first thing to do is check all the settings in the GO app. Was that app updated also?


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  3. Skippy[M]

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2016
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    What you mean with check all the settings?
    Check this picture:

    Thanks!

    [​IMG]


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  4. jhasarthak

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2016
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    4
    Another firmware upgrade nightmare. I am trapped into this too. Havent been able to find a solution yet.
     
  5. Skippy[M]

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2016
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank god that im not the only one.. But ye mate, this is really annoying.. But they will probably fix this soon?


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  6. Procharged97

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2016
    Messages:
    998
    Likes Received:
    359
    Location:
    Canterbury, CT
    I'm sure you checked already but maybe it put it in beginner mode after FW update. [​IMG]


    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  7. Procharged97

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2016
    Messages:
    998
    Likes Received:
    359
    Location:
    Canterbury, CT
    It says it will only fly in a radius of 30 meters from the home point when in beginner mode


    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  8. RodPad

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    Messages:
    2,653
    Likes Received:
    368
    Location:
    Pacific,NorthWet, 97031
    I have never flown in beginners mode, but I don't think RTH would activate.
     
  9. Mr. Pina Colada

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2016
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    10
    You can downgrade your firmware through the DJI GO app. In the go app, go to the top right corner and hold down on the graduate hat button for 5 seconds and release. it will then give you options to downgrade your firmware. But the limited range, you have your antennas in the proper position and point your transmitter at the phantom correct?
     
  10. toegema

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2016
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    41
    I also had some good flights on firmware 1.4.60.
    Updated firmware to the latest 1.5.70 and lost videosignal after 150m (did not lose RC). The most irritating is that the video stays lost until I land back at the home point.
    I will try downgrading back to 1.4.60 and see if this helps.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  11. Mr. Pina Colada

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2016
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    10
    That's interesting. I usually lose RC before wifi. You could also check to see if all of your connections within the transmitter are well secured. There shouldn't be a reason for them not to be, but it's always a suggestion.
     
  12. toegema

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2016
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    41
    I could do that. It also seems that downgrading from this latest firmware is not possible. Can anyone confirm this?


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  13. Mr. Pina Colada

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2016
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    10
    Are you not able to do the downgrade from the app? Like does going to the graduation hat button on the top right not work for downgrading?
     
  14. toegema

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2016
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    41
    I tried the graduation hat. It said No firmware available or something. I remember previously when I was on older firmware that I got the option to go one back.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  15. Mr. Pina Colada

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2016
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    10
    Have you changed SD cards at all recently?
     
  16. Multicoptertec

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2016
    Messages:
    1,108
    Likes Received:
    314
    Location:
    Apollo Beach, Florida
    I meant go through all the settings in the various screens for the bird, the RC, etc. You just show the firmware versions screen.
     
  17. RodPad

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    Messages:
    2,653
    Likes Received:
    368
    Location:
    Pacific,NorthWet, 97031
    Were you connected to the Phantom when you checked?
     
  18. Skippy[M]

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2016
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Im not able to downgrade to the previous firmware. Yepp, I we're connected to the Phantom.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  19. toegema

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2016
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    41
    Yes, but not between the last two firmwares.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  20. toegema

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2016
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    41
    Yes, I was for sure.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app