Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Standard RC lost with dbs mod

Discussion in 'Phantom 3 Help' started by Wvphantompilot, Jul 3, 2016.

  1. Wvphantompilot

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2016
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    4
    Ok so about 10 minutes ago I was flying my quad in the normal location I usually fly. Got out so far and lost image which happens sometimes. Hit return to home and it returned and landed. Turned the unit off and back on and now says RC lost. Tried to power it of several times. Close out the app. Even tried litchi. Unable to move the gimble or anything. Any suggestions?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  2. Wvphantompilot

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2016
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    4
    Also checked all my cables and everything was tight. So no issue there. Hoping to wait a few hours and try it again maybe that was the issue.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  3. Phantomix

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2014
    Messages:
    334
    Likes Received:
    51
    Location:
    Weston, MA
    restart your phone, transmitter and quad
    if that doesnt work, pop the transmitter open and post a picture if you dont see anything
     
  4. Wvphantompilot

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2016
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    4
    Sounds like a plan.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  5. Phantomix

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2014
    Messages:
    334
    Likes Received:
    51
    Location:
    Weston, MA
    i had a cable break from inside the transmitter and almost fried my antenna board, if only the rc signal is lost but the video feed connects then i would pop it open and DO NOT TURN IT ON
    the antenna acts as a resistor so turning it on if a cable is broken inside might mean damaging your antenna board
     
  6. Wvphantompilot

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2016
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    4
    My dbs mod and cables are only like 2 weeks old and I thought I glued them in pretty well. However I'll check it out when I get time in a few and post from there.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  7. Phantomix

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2014
    Messages:
    334
    Likes Received:
    51
    Location:
    Weston, MA
    i doubt anything is wrong just much better to check than to fly without knowing
     
  8. Wvphantompilot

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2016
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    4
    I fully agree. I'll give it a shot in a minute and I'll pop it open to check it out.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  9. Wvphantompilot

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2016
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    4
    Update: tried to fly again still saying RC lost. Tired restarting my phone. Closed the app and tried again. Nothing works. Also tried to relink the controller using the button on the bottom of the drone. That didn't work earlier.

    [​IMG][​IMG][​IMG]


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  10. Wvphantompilot

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2016
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    4
    Also flashes the yellow back lights.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  11. Phantomix

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2014
    Messages:
    334
    Likes Received:
    51
    Location:
    Weston, MA
    now i really think it is controller related pop that thing open and look for something and post a picture of it
     
  12. Wvphantompilot

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2016
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    4
    I'll open it up when I get home I don't have the necessary tools where I'm at now


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  13. longdog

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2016
    Messages:
    260
    Likes Received:
    72
    Does it do the same thing if your in a different location?
    Could it be interference with the sirface/area your trying to take off from?

    Also did you try calibrating compass?
     
  14. Wvphantompilot

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2016
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    4
    Just woke up and popped the controller open.

    [​IMG][​IMG]


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  15. Wvphantompilot

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2016
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    4
    Checked all the connections everything seems to be fine. Gonna re glue and try to fly in a different area


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  16. Wvphantompilot

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2016
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    4
    Just tried again still shows RC lost. What should I do?
    [​IMG]


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  17. Wvphantompilot

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2016
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    4
    Even tried litchi. No luck still. [​IMG][​IMG][​IMG]


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  18. Phantomix

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2014
    Messages:
    334
    Likes Received:
    51
    Location:
    Weston, MA
    no idea. i would buy a new controller, or even better, a p3a
     
  19. Zuzua

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2016
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    107
    Hey bud, where in WV are you? I'm in Charles town