Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

RC firmware updates have reduced power by over half?

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by mikesmiley, May 29, 2016.

  1. mikesmiley

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2016
    Messages:
    452
    Likes Received:
    263
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA
    Not sure what to make of this, but I find it very intriguing and more importantly very disheartening if true.

    after.png before.png
     
  2. mikesmiley

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2016
    Messages:
    452
    Likes Received:
    263
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA
    I have two GL300Bs. One with the latest firmware and DBS/Itelite, and the other still brand new in the plastic with stock firmware 1.3something.

    I really want one of those meters. Bad. I wanna know.
     
  3. Karanba

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2015
    Messages:
    312
    Likes Received:
    21
    I have GL-300C and P3A, all latest firmware and few days ago I went 1700m in CE mode with no problem.
     
  4. BoomP3P

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2016
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    2
    My p3p doesn't go past 550m for some reason, all up to date firmware. Any help would be great
    Thanks.
    Btw what is CE mode, im new to all this
     
  5. Karanba

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2015
    Messages:
    312
    Likes Received:
    21
    CE is remote working mode for Europe and it has lower range than those in US which use FCC mode.
     
  6. johnny21

    Joined:
    May 12, 2016
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Serres,Macedonia,Greece
    I live in Europe (CE), have a GL-300B and flying up to 6 kilometers distance with no problems.Just with a windsurf antenna.Latest firmware.

    So I don't thing your firmware is the problem. Maybe your flying spot is. Try open spaces, no electricity cables, no houses etc.
     
  7. mike123

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2016
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    5
    How do you know that CE is less than makers max stated range? Please.


    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  8. Doink

    Joined:
    May 1, 2016
    Messages:
    279
    Likes Received:
    79
    Location:
    Derbyshire, UK
    Screenshot_2016-05-29-20-57-55.png
    Took my P3A for its first distance run a few weeks back after owning it since January, with a GL300-B, totally stock and all the latest updates I started getting the picture break up and weak signal warning at 4000ft, I've since invested in some windsurfers, other than that it's still stock and no further firmware updates and thus time it went right upto 10000ft with no hint of picture loss or warnings, I can only imagine what the max distance would be if I kept going, frightening what a £5 mod has done
     
  9. johnny21

    Joined:
    May 12, 2016
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Serres,Macedonia,Greece
    Keep going for the 20,000 mark:).
    One more vote from me for the cheap windsurfers...
     
  10. peterepeat69

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2016
    Messages:
    549
    Likes Received:
    110
    True firmware updates reduce range, sad really.


    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  11. Wibble

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2015
    Messages:
    1,313
    Likes Received:
    478
    Location:
    Brecon Beacons Wales UK
    I am running an ancient firmware. I used to be able to fly 1.6 miles with my 300A contoller. It broke so I swapped for a 300B. I can now fly 2.6 miles and could have gone further but RTH kicked in. No windsurfers or anything totally standard!
    I truly think DJI are deliberately dropping range to avoid media and government pressure.
     
    #11 Wibble, May 30, 2016
    Last edited: May 30, 2016
    peterepeat69 likes this.
  12. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,714
    Likes Received:
    3,436
    Although that's a popular opinion on the forums, there's absolutely no evidence to back it up.
     
  13. robinb

    Joined:
    May 10, 2014
    Messages:
    2,907
    Likes Received:
    503
    Location:
    A place in the sun
    The first pictures dont seem to add up

    The specifications say FCC mode is 20dbm which is 100mw
    CE mode is 16dbm which is 40mw

    Regardless my stock unit in Europe goes 4.5km and probably more.
     
  14. Wibble

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2015
    Messages:
    1,313
    Likes Received:
    478
    Location:
    Brecon Beacons Wales UK
    I know there is a lot of unfounded speculation but is it true that the 300C does have reduced power?
    Also it seem people with the latest updates do see a real drop in range. Why if it is not deliberate?
    I am not really blaming DJI we all know how the media are determind to destroy our awesome hobby.
     
  15. robinb

    Joined:
    May 10, 2014
    Messages:
    2,907
    Likes Received:
    503
    Location:
    A place in the sun
    Should add mine has latest updates on.
     
  16. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,714
    Likes Received:
    3,436
    If DJI were trying to reduce your range for some sort of regulatory compliance they wouldn't be doing it by just a tiny amount that the much publicised power decrease of the 300c.
    And what about the (not small number of) flyers that continue to report no reduction of the range they experience?

    A reduction of output power from .38 watts to .30 watts doesn't mean a 20% reduction in range.
    The physics involved are much more complicated than that but most of the people making so much noise about this have no idea of the physics involved.
    The effects of the small power reduction are insignificant when compared with the effects of local environmental conditions and interference.
    If DJI wanted to nobble your range they would cut the power in half and everyone would see a reduction in range.
    But that hasn't happened and DJI have no need to reduce your range.
    They aren't getting any pressure from regulatory authorities.
    The idea that they are secretly reducing your range to suck up to FAA etc just doesn't add up.
     
    liketogethigh likes this.
  17. Wibble

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2015
    Messages:
    1,313
    Likes Received:
    478
    Location:
    Brecon Beacons Wales UK
    I fully understand the concepts. I used to be a Radio Amateur and my degree was in quantum mechanics even if it was a few years ago lol.
    It just seems to me with all the restrictions each new update DJI releases they err on the side of caution.
    BTW as you are a moderator how about sections for the DJI Matrice and Inspire? I have really been bitten by the drone bug and want to go further. Might end up doing some long range FPV stuff using fixed wing as well. They think nothing of 80 miles!
     
  18. Doink

    Joined:
    May 1, 2016
    Messages:
    279
    Likes Received:
    79
    Location:
    Derbyshire, UK
    Baby steps lol, after the 4000ft flight I sort of had an idea of 10000ft after the windsurfers, after sailing out to my target (for now) I decided to take a screen shot of the one way trip, turned round and put the rc in the back of the estate car to free up my hands for the screen grab and it instantly lost signal and RTH kicked in D'oh!!! Before I had chance it was already in the high 9''s and on its way back, in a little panic I forgot to cancel RTH and go back out to 10000 or even further
     
  19. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,714
    Likes Received:
    3,436
    Here's your Inspire section ...... DJI Inspire Forum
     
  20. Wibble

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2015
    Messages:
    1,313
    Likes Received:
    478
    Location:
    Brecon Beacons Wales UK
    Lol I did look in the main section didnt see it maybe you should have quick links for lazy people!