Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

RC Firmware 1.4.0.1?

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by cEllis, Aug 13, 2015.

  1. cEllis

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2015
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Maryland
    So I just got P3A yesterday. Spent last night updated and calibrated everything with firmware 1.3.2 and DJI Go. This morning go I to do a check before flying and get the "firmware update required warning." Clicking on it through the app I get taken to this update page....where it says firmware 1.4.0.1 available and prompts me to download through the up. I don't see that firmware listed on DJI site anywhere, and my phantom itself is still on 1.3.2. Anyone know what's up with that?
     

    Attached Files:

    Brian089 likes this.
  2. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,925
    Likes Received:
    5,573
    Location:
    US
    Remote controller updates can only be installed via the DJI GO app. That's why they are not listed on DJI's download page.
     
  3. robinb

    Joined:
    May 10, 2014
    Messages:
    2,907
    Likes Received:
    503
    Location:
    A place in the sun
    That is not true, I updated the TX last week by using a SD card plugged into a USB adapter in back of TX.
     
  4. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,925
    Likes Received:
    5,573
    Location:
    US
    skyhighdiver and cEllis like this.
  5. FCPhantom

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2014
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    Finland
    I have ask from DJI live chat about this update (red text is DJI reply...)

    That's interesting

    I am not aware of a firmware version 1.4.0.1

    18:25:42
    If you like I can take this up with our headquarters


    18:26:50
    why the app want me to upgrade the RC??

    now I have the 1.4.0.1 version on my RC

    18:28:39
    So you (DJI) do not know what is this update???

    I myself am not aware of version 1.4.0.1 for the Phantom 3

    Since the latest version publicly available is indeed 1.3.20 like you mention


    ....That IS interesting!

    18:31:32
    We are checking your inquiry, one moment please.


    Again, You (DJI) have release the update (1.4.0.1). I think nobody else can not release these updates, am I right?
     
  6. cEllis

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2015
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Maryland
    I think PhantomHelp answered the question if you look at the PDF he linked to. Was JW if anyone else got this update as well. I flew with it this morning and everything went great. Didn't notice anything new from when I updated to 1.3.2 last night. But I probably wouldn't notice even if their was seeing as it was my first flight with a phantom, lol.
     
  7. ecarfar

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2015
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Bellport, New York
    This is very interesting....been having nothing but problems with the 1.3.2 version on my RC...hope this is true and it installs on my controller...
     
    AlmostTan likes this.
  8. robinb

    Joined:
    May 10, 2014
    Messages:
    2,907
    Likes Received:
    503
    Location:
    A place in the sun
  9. desertcat

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2015
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    30
    I did the 1.3.2 update on P3A yesterday but RC didn't require it. I flew, everything was fine. I turn on RC this morning and DJI GO app has no video/no connection. I finally get to see what an RC update looks like thru GO app! Now my firmware says 1.3.20+ oooh plus!! lol jk. Anyway. I still had no video until I unplugged the USB cable from tablet and plugged back in. Looks good so far. Haven't flown yet.
     
  10. n6vmo

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2015
    Messages:
    484
    Likes Received:
    156
    Location:
    Lompoc, CA.
  11. n6vmo

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2015
    Messages:
    484
    Likes Received:
    156
    Location:
    Lompoc, CA.

    Once again, it looks like DJi's right hand doesn't know what its left hand is doing.

    I would bet that a DJi assembler/tech inserted an SD card, into your bird on the assembly/test line, containing the developers FW P3S_FW_V01.04.0001.bin.
    It just too coincidental.
     
  12. cEllis

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2015
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Maryland
    No couldn't have been, the micro SD was a brand new 64gb I had just picked up to use with the P3A. I took the 16gb it came with out right away and set aside. Everything updated to 1.3.2 just find, just when I went to fly this morning the DJI Go app prompted me in the status bar to upgrade firmware like you see in the photo I attached. My tablet had wifi connectivity at the time.
     
  13. Shatty

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2015
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    17
    I just turned on my P3P and controller with DJI Go app for Android and got alert to update to 1.4.0.1. I had 1.32 on there previously
     
  14. cEllis

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2015
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Maryland
    Ok cool, so they must be pushing it out to everyone through the app now. Thanks for confirming.
     
  15. n6vmo

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2015
    Messages:
    484
    Likes Received:
    156
    Location:
    Lompoc, CA.
    Help me understand, you got your P3 and immediately upgraded to 1.3.2 upon arrival?
     
  16. cEllis

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2015
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Maryland
    Yes, before flying at all I updated it and RC to most recent firmware (1.3.2), did all calibrations, and then spent evening familiarizing with DJI Go app on android. This morning when I powered up everything was prompted to update RC to 1.4 through the app.

    *I did not use stock micro sd card, replaced with my own 64 gb.
     
  17. n6vmo

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2015
    Messages:
    484
    Likes Received:
    156
    Location:
    Lompoc, CA.
    OK, I thought it arrived with 1.4.0.1.
     
  18. ecarfar

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2015
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Bellport, New York
    OK, wait...if they're pushing 1.4.0.1 for the RC, it will be a mismatch with the aircraft, right? Isn't it traditional to update the RC, aircraft and batteries all with the same firmware version????? The DJI website is still showing 1.3.20.
     
  19. Panther6834

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2015
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    32
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    Has anyone else out there received an "install update" notification to install FW v1.4.0.1 (or anything after 1.3.2)? If so, can you please confirm whether, or not, it is a transmitter-only firmware release? I, as with a lot of other people reading this thread, am somewhat confused. Any/All help is appreciated.
     
  20. cEllis

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2015
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Maryland
    Image my confusion, being right before I take my first flight...lol. I was concerned about the FW not matching what was on the aircraft as well. However, I can confirm everything seemed to work just fine, had a perfect first flight. Granted I took it slow and shut it down at 45% battery life.