Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up free to join our community today!

Sign Up

Rage cams 5.4mm flat lens

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Discussion' started by Ravecreative, Jan 23, 2014.

  1. Ravecreative

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2013
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Medway, Kent, UK
    Seriously thinking about voiding my gopro warranty and changing the lens to a ragecam 5.4mm non-fisheye flat lens.
    I hate the way the fisheye doesn't look right when inserted into video footage, and would rather have nice flat video.
    Plus the de-fish eye / correction does strange things to the edges of the picture.

    They look awesome
    http://ragecams.com/shop/54mm-flat-lens ... p-631.html
    But a bit concerned about possibly destroying the camera

    Has anyone had any experience with this? I'd appreciate any guidance before I steam ahead

    Thanks guys
     
  2. Jdacal

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2013
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    I modified mine, I love it. Quality is fantastic after you focus at 150 foot distance as suggested by RageCam.
     
  3. FASTFJR

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2013
    Messages:
    639
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Marathon, Florida
    $399 for the camera and another $379 for the lens? WOW :lol:
     
  4. havasuphoto

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2013
    Messages:
    1,280
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lake Havasu, AZ
    2 things; 1, if you have a Zen Gimbal, chances are it won't balance with that on it. I've tried with just a filter adapter(light), and a ND filter(also-light), and the Gimbal enters hibernation mode.
    2. shoot in 2700X1400 mode(2.7K Cine), then de-fisheye, and crop to 1080P. Check the results when done-you might be surprised.
    And no, I don't have any footage I can show you....just try it.

    I've seen footage with that lens, and it does look amazing. But-it won't work with my Gimbal-so it's a non-starter here. Too much weight at the wrong position on the camera-causes the Gimbal to go limp.
     
  5. Ravecreative

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2013
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Medway, Kent, UK
    Yeh. I was worried about that too, but they do list it as a dji phantom lens. And it looks pretty much the same size.
    Might give it a go anyway.
     
  6. havasuphoto

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2013
    Messages:
    1,280
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lake Havasu, AZ
    That's what I thought about the snake river filter adapter. It's very light weight-just a few grams. And, the ND filter I had was ultra thin, and also just a few grams. But, the Gimbal would enter hibernation as soon as the aircraft pulled any G-forces...even the slightest bump, and it fell asleep. This was with firmware 1.6 and 1.8.
    I'd love to have an ND filter on my GP3....but, it's just not happening with the Zen.
     
  7. Ravecreative

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2013
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Medway, Kent, UK
    @jdacal do you have any problems using your modified gopro on the zenmuse?
     
  8. lgeist

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2013
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    USA
    Dang, Havasu - I just received my Snake River adapter, ND and polarizing filters a few days ago and was planning to test them today on my Zen...

    Oh well, I can still use them for general GoPro shooting off of the P2. :)
     
  9. djiatl

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2013
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
  10. havasuphoto

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2013
    Messages:
    1,280
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lake Havasu, AZ
    Yes, and to the last post, yes also.
    From what I've seen-you can't alter the weight of the GP3, period. The plus is only 2/10ths of a gram lighter-so that's not an option either.
    I have my SR filter holder just sitting on my desk-unused, and paid $35 shipped to get it here. 52mm.
    I was using the Hoya HMC ND400 "thin" filter for the testing. I also tried an ND8 and an ND4. I test "flew" them(because I didn't trust that thing to stay on in a real flight-but had a solution in mind), by powering up the Phantom, getting the green home lock flashes, then just picking it up, and pretend flying.
    As soon as I banked and rotated around my body-the Gimbal went limp.....it recovered after a few seconds-but did the same thing when I "pulled up", simulating a climb from speed--limp.

    So, unless someone finds something in the settings, or, maybe I'm just missing something-it's a no go here.

    But, there is "hope"....Go Pro 4 is "scheduled" for a Summer 2014 release!!!! I don't think GP will change the form/size much...but, maybe, just maybe, they'll give us a solution......or, maybe Zen/DJI can add a firmware upgrade to handle the weight of a few grams on the end of the lens-so we can run ND filters.

    Shooting 24P without an ND filter on a Go Pro is a complete and utter waste of time right now.........bummer
     
  11. ianwood

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    2,800
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    Lost Angeles
    What about using some ballast on the opposite side to get it to balance? Should be very easy to add just the right amount through trial and error as the gimbal will sit evenly and not rotate when powered down when the ballast is the right size and in the right position.
     
  12. havasuphoto

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2013
    Messages:
    1,280
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lake Havasu, AZ
    Yea, I thought about that. But, right now I have bigger issues with my Zenmouse. Seems that since I've owned it, in every single video, there's a pronounced tic/jump, at very random points in the video. If I was able to mount the ND filter and shoot a true 24P, it would only look worse. So, until that problem is solved-I'll wait for someone else to try it.
     
  13. Jdacal

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2013
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nope, steady as a rock even with the ND filter on mine. No noise or overheating of the gimbal.

    I've done about 10 flights with it.
     
  14. havasuphoto

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2013
    Messages:
    1,280
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lake Havasu, AZ
    How did you get it to balance with the added weight? What do you use for ND filters?
     
  15. Jdacal

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2013
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    I didn't do anything to balance it, using a polar filter. I have a smaller filter from RageCam but haven't used that one yet.

    I'm not sure if there are software adjustments since I did not build the Phantom 2. Aerial Media Pros assembled it.

    I've done very tight turns and haven't noticed anything unusual. When I get home next week I'll take a closer look at the videos, just in case.
     
  16. Ravecreative

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2013
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Medway, Kent, UK
    well, I've thrown caution to the wind, ordered one from rage cams £265 inc priority shipping, should be here this week

    i'll let you know how it goes, and put a bit of footage up

    fingers crossed
     
  17. havasuphoto

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2013
    Messages:
    1,280
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lake Havasu, AZ
    Is this lens something you can install yourself, or do you need to send the camera in to have them do it?
     
  18. Ravecreative

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2013
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Medway, Kent, UK
    I have a big hammer. LOL

    no I'm installing it myself.
    Watching the videos online, there's nothing particularly scary about it, you just need to take your time.
    Famous last words :)
     
  19. AllanVB

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2014
    Messages:
    391
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    Just ordered for my PV2. I will update this forum with pic before and after in about a week. :)
     

    Attached Files:

    • rage.JPG
      rage.JPG
      File size:
      88.5 KB
      Views:
      140
  20. Bachfire

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can you kindly provide a link to the video you mentioned in your post?
     

Share This Page