Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Radar problem

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision + Discussion' started by srchadwi, Oct 22, 2014.

  1. srchadwi

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2014
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi all

    I've noticed that sometimes the arrow in the radar (bottom left of the Vision app), that shows the position of the phantom relative to the home position, is pointing 180 degrees from where it should. So if the copter is going away from you it is pointing as if it is coming towards you. I have calibrated the compass in the phantom fine and it has plenty of satellites.

    Any idea what is happening?

    Cheers

    Steve
     
  2. Dirty Bird

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2014
    Messages:
    0
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Glen Burnie, MD - USA
    Calibrate the compass in your device...the phone or tablet you are using.
     
  3. srchadwi

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2014
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks

    I'm not sure my phone has a compass actually. However, I was thinking of buying a Samsung Tab 4 to use with the Phantom 2 Vision plus. Do you know whether a suitable tablet has to have a built in magnetometer for the radar system to work?

    Also, I live in the Southern hemisphere so I don't know if that confuses things.

    Thanks
     
  4. Dirty Bird

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2014
    Messages:
    0
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Glen Burnie, MD - USA
    I believe the pointer in the radar relies on the phone compass. It you rotate the phone the pointer should rotate with it and remain pointing towards the Phantom. If your phone has a compass it usually has a "calibrate compass" function somewhere in the settings.
     
  5. srchadwi

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2014
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think that's the problem - I don't think the phone has a compass :)

    So when buying a tablet do you think it's important to make sure it has a built in compass otherwise the radar won't work?
     
  6. dronebandit

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2014
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    3
    yes, I had to get rid of my super cheap china quad core IPS android due to missing compass, now using phone with compass. So read datasheet carefully before purchase :).
    Check free program GPS status from Google play store, it might help to find out if you have compass or not, and also helps to calibrate it, my phone has no special menu item to calibrate compass.....
     
  7. srchadwi

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2014
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    cheers, that's helped.

    Also, do you need a tablet with 3G so you can use the 'find the quad' feature in the app?
     
  8. Mori55

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2014
    Messages:
    1,993
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    NJ-USA
    I never really look at the radar. But does the way it's facing when recording your home position have anything to do with it ? I'll try it later. I use a iPad mini wifi only.
     
  9. GustavL

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2014
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Somerset West, South Africa
  10. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,771
    Likes Received:
    3,479
    No .. use wifi to download/cache the mapping before or after flying
     
  11. srchadwi

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2014
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    I haven't had my Phantom long so just curious - if you don't use your radar then how do you know which direction you're flying in once you've gone too far to be able to tell from sight (which isn't very far for me as I loose orientation quite easy)? If the FPV is easy to view then I can see from that which direction it is pointing in but if it's very sunny (so I can't see the screen well), or the terrain is confusing such as having lots of buildings or trees that all look the same, then I haven't a clue and have found myself relying on the radar. Is there a better method?

    Cheers

    Steve