Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

  1. maseman88

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2016
    Messages:
    326
    Likes Received:
    141
    So i just bought it and planned my first mission. I will try it in a bit but my question is this. I know the mission allows you to fly out of range of the video feed. when you lose the feed, do you still see the drone flying the mission along the plotted course?
     
  2. Mark The Droner

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2015
    Messages:
    3,998
    Likes Received:
    1,168
    Location:
    Brookeville, MD, USA
    Nope. Sorry. You just gotta stand there and hang tight, cross your fingers, and hope you didn't mess up. :blush:
     
    maseman88 likes this.
  3. maseman88

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2016
    Messages:
    326
    Likes Received:
    141
    lol, for real?!
     
  4. sar104

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2014
    Messages:
    1,265
    Likes Received:
    245
    Location:
    Los Alamos, NM.
    Were you hoping that it might show predicted progress along the flight path once it loses telemetry?
     
    maseman88 likes this.
  5. maseman88

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2016
    Messages:
    326
    Likes Received:
    141

    yes. ****, i just am having a hard time creating these missions without knowing where it's at lol
     
  6. Mark The Droner

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2015
    Messages:
    3,998
    Likes Received:
    1,168
    Location:
    Brookeville, MD, USA
    The best place for your Phantom while creating your missions is in its case next to the wall. Because if you have Litchi, you can plan your mission on your desktop, save it, and then run the mission later - like the next day.
     
  7. maseman88

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2016
    Messages:
    326
    Likes Received:
    141
    I just did
     
  8. Gary M

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2016
    Messages:
    464
    Likes Received:
    132
    OK, I know if you plan a Litchi mission out of video range it still flies it. BUT, will you still get GPS feed to your map, seeing location of drone even though there's no FPV?
     
  9. Air Ontario

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2016
    Messages:
    1,271
    Likes Received:
    493
    Location:
    U.S./ Canada
    Funny, doesn't the GPS sat map still show position? Or is that part of the video downlink?
     
  10. Gary M

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2016
    Messages:
    464
    Likes Received:
    132
    LMAO! I think we just came up with that one at once. Great minds think alike I guess, lol!
     
    Air Ontario and maseman88 like this.
  11. maseman88

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2016
    Messages:
    326
    Likes Received:
    141
    ok, so i just did a little trial run of it around my block. it flew the mission just fine but I could only start the mission after the drone was in the air. then i switched apps and started the mission. I couldn't get it to take off on its own. is that normal?
     
  12. Air Ontario

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2016
    Messages:
    1,271
    Likes Received:
    493
    Location:
    U.S./ Canada
    I have launched with Litchi and the uploaded and flew the mission if I remember correctly
     
    maseman88 likes this.
  13. maseman88

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2016
    Messages:
    326
    Likes Received:
    141
    is there something special I have to do or a manual input on the sticks?
     
  14. Mark The Droner

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2015
    Messages:
    3,998
    Likes Received:
    1,168
    Location:
    Brookeville, MD, USA
    In general, it's not a good idea to start your mission from the ground for the same reason it's not good to start any flight by zooming off a mile into the distance. What you should do is launch and hover for 30 secs or so to be sure your compass is good. Then start the mission/flight/whatever.

    As far as showing your location on the sat map, chances are if you've lost video, you've lost everything, so it's not likely it will show you your position on the sat map. But I suppose it's possible. On my P2V, I sometimes will lose video but still get random updates on some telemetry. Depends on the signal.
     
    #14 Mark The Droner, Apr 11, 2016
    Last edited: Apr 11, 2016
    maseman88 likes this.
  15. maseman88

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2016
    Messages:
    326
    Likes Received:
    141
    so the consensus is, you will still see it on the map making its trip, just no video?
     
  16. gtpark

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2015
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    25
    Not only that; when I fly autonomous missions with any app I like to manually climb above any local obstacles ( treeline and buildings) before sending to the first distant WP. Many have hit auto not thinking of the fact that the craft will fly a straight line to the first waypoint and may not get above obstacles.

    The alternative is to set a first way point directly above takeoff point to get it above things before proceeding horizontally.
     
  17. maseman88

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2016
    Messages:
    326
    Likes Received:
    141
    so it do
    lol, does it allow you to see the craft follow waypoints on the map even though you video lose feed?
     
  18. Seawolf

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    53
    Same for detachable blades that might come loose. Was in a hurry, thought they where all on properly. Started the litchi flight from the ground and one blade took off into the air, P4 flipped over on the ground and I cut the engine. Happened very fast. Lesson learned, check the blades in the ground, then get in the air, then start the mission.
     
  19. maseman88

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2016
    Messages:
    326
    Likes Received:
    141
    amazing that nobody will answer the question lol....
     
  20. maseman88

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2016
    Messages:
    326
    Likes Received:
    141
    I am about to fly and I want to know... nobody will say if it does or doesn't in any of the forum posts I read.