Questions from a newbie, and where to buy online?

Reaction score
Hi everyone,

After some thinking, I am near ready to purchase my first phantom. After researching my options, I think I want to go with the Phantom 2 with the h3-2d gimbal and a gopro3 black. I would also like to consider adding a FPV setup after purchase, if not in conjunction with my purchase. I am a professional landscaper and I think this would add a whole new element to showcasing some of my completed projects. I would also consider doing some aerial photography once the legal issues get ironed out in what looks to be 2015.

So here are my questions:

1. Is the above setup overkill for a new hobbyist who has some interest in taking things to the next level if possible? I see a lot of listings for the original phantom online where the reason for sale is due to the owner upgrading to the phantom 2. If I can jump into the phantom 2 and skip the upgrade step, I would like to. Resale value seems to be decent as well if things dont go according to plan.

2. I have read their are some issues with FPV if you are not using the Vision model. It seems to boil down to buying your own screen as well as a transmitter to attach on the Phantom. Is this all their is to it?

3. This may be a stupid question, but when they state that the Phantom operates over WiFi, is that referring strictly to the type of transmission standard? Or does that mean there is a need to have a Wifi internet connection in the area to work?

4. Where is the best place to buy something like this? I see independent sellers offering the above package on amazon for around $1300, but I also have seen listings on sites that cater more towards the RC and aerial flight hobbyist. Unfortunately there is no dealer near me that carries this (NE Ohio). Is buying used a viable option? These seem to be prone to abuse, which scares me when talking about the used market for these.