Questions for an experienced manual flyer

Reaction score
OK, so you have switch S1 bottom position set for manual. All switches are up and you take off and your hands are off the controls. The quad is just "floating" in the air. You switch to manual. My first thought is it drops to the ground because you had no throttle. Control is just centered. Is this true?
With right control centered, does the quad start to move in any direction it wants to?
If you have a little more weight on one side, will it just tip over towards that side?
I was just wondering knowing how BAD my Hubsan X4 flies, if the Phantom operates about the same in manual.
Thanks

Good question on the throttle. Hadn't thought about that!

For pitch and roll, though, yeah... I'd imagine it'd still be lots and lots of constant adjustment. You'd basically ignore the self-centering and never take your hands off the sticks.

I'm no expert but this is what I do. I also have S1 set to manual in lowest position. Actually I use manual to lift off without touching sticks. It pops up and I immediately go to gps or atti. If you have no wind, in gps it just hovers there. In atti it will also. I suggest your quad should always be balanced. Now if you are flying....no wind...and drop to manual, be ready to give it throttle and do any correction with right stick. I have flown a small amount in manual, mainly hovering with small input from sticks cause it can get away real fast. Always be ready to go back to gps to save your butt. The reason I use manual for liftoff because it is much quicker to speed up the rotors than gps which leads to tip overs.

You're absolutely correct about the throttle. If you have your stick centered when you flip to manual, unless your Phantom is completely naked (nothing attached) it's going to drop like a rock, and with no stabilization. I always give myself at least 20ft of drop clearance just in case when I switch to manual, and I bump the throttle to at least 65%.