Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

question on gopro simultaneous pictures and video

Discussion in 'FPV (First Person View)' started by knuckles, Sep 2, 2014.

  1. knuckles

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2014
    Messages:
    456
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Arizona
    I'm wondering what gopro settings you guys use for simultaneously taking pictures and video without getting a black screen on your FPV monitor when the gopro takes it's pictures.

    Thanks for the info
     
  2. Redwood

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2014
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Francisco Bay Area, California
    Regular time lapse mode will give you the black screen each time it takes a picture. To avoid this use the simultaneous picture and video mode.[​IMG]
     
  3. knuckles

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2014
    Messages:
    456
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Arizona
    Thanks for the reply that was very helpful. I'll give it a try
     
  4. cmturn0

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2014
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    based on the references to protune & 1440p res. I'm assuming this can only be done on a go-pro 3+ black?
     
  5. Tom

    Tom

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2014
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Looking for an answer for my problem and saw your post, New to FPV Running P2 with gopro 3 Balck, Zenmuse H3-3d, IRC 600mw, isod mini, Black pearl 7” (RC801)Diversity RX and when I’m recording or taking stills with timer on gopro I’m losing my live video feed, still have flight data and record light from gopro just no live feed…….is this the same problem you are having? If so following closely and searching for an answer.
     
  6. knuckles

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2014
    Messages:
    456
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Arizona
    Yes it works great. I tested it today. I had no interruption in my video feed that I could tell. When I was done I had both the video files and many photos.
     
  7. Jebus

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2013
    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    0
    I thought that I had read somewhere that the picture quality isn't has good in this mode as it is in standard time lapse mode. Can anyone confirm this? Or would it be just as good to put the GoPro in 4k or 2.7k vid mode and grab stills from that? I've personally found that grabbing stills from the video just doesn't look that great - or at least not nearly as good as I've seen others post.
     
  8. Mike

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2014
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    2
    This is normal operational behavior with a GoPro. The video feed will drop out when the photo is taken.
     
  9. Mike

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2014
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    2
    Yea, video + stills mode basically takes a video screen grab. You'll get better quality in time lapse mode but you'll have the screen go black when it captures. I actually prefer that feature because I know exactly when the photo is snapped.
     
  10. Jebus

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2013
    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    0
    That's what I thought that I had read somewhere. Thanks for the confirmation Mike!