Question about the return to home feature.

Reaction score
Hi there everyone, i have never used a drone before and considering getting this model, however i was interested in the return to home feature, how accurate is it? Can it land on a landing pad? how close does it get to the launch spot?

Hi there everyone, i have never used a drone before and considering getting this model, however i was interested in the return to home feature, how accurate is it? Can it land on a landing pad? how close does it get to the launch spot?

In my experience, it lands within 6 feet of its original takeoff point.

If any drone with RTH landed on the original landing pad, I'd be gob-smacked, or put it down to dumb luck.
GPS accuracy is a few metres in general, so pick a spot with about a 6 foot radius in all directions. It may land closer than that, but the accuracy isn't yet good enough to land it back on the pad it left.

Is there a reason why it isn't exact? GPS? Are there any drones (consumer or enterprise) that are that accurate?

Is there a reason why it isn't exact? GPS? Are there any drones (consumer or enterprise) that are that accurate?
Even the GPS guided bombs used in wars wont hit the exact location and will always have a certain error threshold.

The RTH feature is very good, it isn't meant for you to just fly the drone back automatically and land at the exact spot. Its meant for emergencies when you lose signal or whatever and it can flyback to you. Preventing you from losing you thousand dollar toy

In practise you can trust it to come back to where it marked within a few feet, and it is easy to regain manual control for a precise landing.
A lot of us prefer to hand catch it, as tipping over on less than perfect landing spot is rather easy and can damage the props.
When you take off (e.g. in a field) it's hard enough carefully selecting a reasonably clear and level spot to set it down by hand for launch.