Question about the Phantom Vision controller

Reaction score
Hi There,

I'm new to aerial photography but I finally decided to try the Phantom Vision so I ordered one from Amazon just the other day after watching a lot of the Youtube tutorials and also reading some of this forum...

One brief question I have is about the controller...from my understanding, it sounds like the early editions had the microUSB socket required to upgrade the firmware within the controller so you had to take it apart, but the newer editions have it accessible externally?

I guess I'll find out soon enough, but if I ordered a new one from Amazon a couple days ago is it likely to have an external plug or will I probably have to dismantle the controller - I just would rather not have to risk voiding the warranty just to upgrade the firmware.

Thanks,
Jeff.

Mine is a month old with no external socket, so it's hard to know but there are plenty of video guides showing you how to do it - mine did not need updating regardless!

Thanks - so is there a way to know what version of firmware is in the controller without dismantling it and plugging it in?

Thanks,
Jeff.

When you go to update the aircraft (which does have an external socket!) if you are required to update the receiver firmware you will need to open up your transmitter and update that. If your aircraft reports latest receiver version already installed then the tx will not need updating as the tx and rx firmware were a matched pair and would therefore have been applied at the factory.

Ok, so basically if the aircraft arrives out of the box up to date, then the controller also is up to date?

That's good to know so I don't have to potentially dismantle the controller for no reason. Are any of them shipping with an external connector on the controller yet? Maybe not, I guess.

-Jeff.