Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Question about the "Gohome" mode

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Discussion' started by myancon, Feb 1, 2015.

  1. myancon

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2015
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    So I was flying FPV about 800m out yesterday and all the sudden lost the ability to control the drone. I still had clear video feed through my goggles and on the bottom left the iOSD displayed "gohome" (or something close to this, I can't remember exactly).. I'm assuming the short distance signal loss had to do with crossing over large power lines or something... Anyways, the drone slowly made its way back to me.

    The whole way back, I was flipping my S1 / S2 switches, and could not get control back. I even power cycled my controller with no luck.

    When I did shut down my controller or switch the S1 into "failsafe", the iOSD displayed below the "gohome" text "failsafe".. so I'm assuming that "failsafe" and "gohome" mode are 2 different things.

    Finally, when the drone was directly above me and still about 100m up starting to descend, I switched S1 to atti mode and was able to regain control of the drone.

    Does anyone know how to purposely break out of the "gohome" mode sooner than when the drone is directly above you?

    I thought that I lost control of the drone because of loss of signal, and it would fly close enough back to me to regain signal and give me control back.. ?

    Thanks for the replies in advance.
     
  2. crash1sttime

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2014
    Messages:
    926
    Likes Received:
    74
    Location:
    Manchester UK
    Failsafe and Go home mode, or RTH (return to home)are the same thing, its when the phantom loses connection to the transmitter, then the unit makes it way back to the home point

    usually you can cancel RTH mode by flicking the S1 switch to middle position wait one second and then back up to the top position, in your case its possible that the quad still couldnt see the transmitter and continued back to the home point. it could be that your batteries are low maybe.
     
  3. TeamYankee

    Joined:
    May 30, 2014
    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    42
    Location:
    Swansea, Wales, UK
    Quick question... do you fly with your control TX antenna vertical or to the horizontal ?

    It should be vertical to match the vertical antenna layout on the quad to increase range.
     
  4. QYV

    QYV

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Messages:
    1,814
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    NYC

    yea it has to be something related to this. I push my Phantom to control range limits all the time, let's say I'm at 800m and it kicks into GoHome, as soon as it rotates back towards me and starts moving it's usually no more than 5 seconds like as soon as it's covered 10-20m or so I can toggle the switch and resume control.
    The fact that toggling your switch did nothing likely means that for some reason it still wasn't seeing the RC. low batteries should be beeping the RC, antenna orientation is a likely culprit, either on the RC or maybe the FPV antenna on the phantom
     
  5. myancon

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2015
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the reply's!

    Next time this happens I will make sure to toggle S1 to atti and let it sit for a second.. Most likely I did not do this appropriately.
     
  6. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,729
    Likes Received:
    3,450
    Different angles for different points of flight.
    Ideally the flat side of the Tx antenna is parallel to, and pointing at the antenna wires in the legs of your Phantom but this is not always achievable.
     
  7. TeamYankee

    Joined:
    May 30, 2014
    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    42
    Location:
    Swansea, Wales, UK

    I hope I never have to tilt my TX antenna horizontal to match the the quad orientation... lol
     
  8. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,729
    Likes Received:
    3,450
    You'll find that horizontal just might be the best you can do sometimes.
    The main point is that the tip of your antenna should not be pointing at the Phantom.
     
  9. N017RW

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Messages:
    6,239
    Likes Received:
    1,613
    Location:
    Palm Beach Co.- FL
    Vertical is optimum for all orientations except over head as noted regarding the propagation nulls on the ends or top/bottom tips of the Tx antenna.

    If you want to be more precise then a slight tilt towards you will work.

    For a fun and purely academic exercise:
    If you think of the relationship between you and the phantom in flight, visualize a right triangle.

    Side 'a' is the altitude, and side 'b' is the distance from you ('c' is the hypotenuse of course).

    The resultant angle of a-c is the tilt that would produce a direct line to the quad.

    If you try a few examples you'll see the angles are small and thus not really critical.
     
  10. Eltrochaphantom

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2014
    Messages:
    286
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Uruguay
    Re: Question about the "Gohome" mode

    How much battery percentage did u have? There is an option in the assistant whereby if u hit a certain percentage of battery it will go home and land. U Cna deactivate this